April 04, 2011

Southern Men

I have this ridiculous notion that he's not going to call, that he's going to bail on this date. What kind of mentality is that? Even though I'm pretty positive that he wants to see me again, I just can't shake the feeling that it's not real. I mean, after going out with so many guys with the same pattern, a girl begins to expect certain thing- or not expect them. So when a guy comes around that walks to a slightly different beat, I find myself at a loss. I don't know what to think or how to feel or what to expect. We don't really talk that much, but we didn't talk much before the date either. In fact, the only day we did do a lot of texting was the day we decided to actually hang out. So the fact that I'm not hearing from him doesn't phase me all that much. And I did get one text today which I suppose is a good sign. And I guess tomorrow he'll give me the details on this "real" date that we're going on.

I don't know why I get so nervous like this. I guess if someone doesn't really want to see me I'd rather them be straight forward about it than pussyfoot around. We're adults, right? If you're not interested then you're not interested. But he actually did ask me out again. Usually I ask for the second date if I decide it was worth it. So it's so strange that he asked me. I just can't get over my surprise! So even though I have these silly doubts, I really do hope we go out again. He was sweet and affectionate and was all about assuring me that he wasn't like other guys (if only I had a penny for every time I heard that phrase!) so I'm hoping this actually goes forward instead of backwards.

Anyway, I know this is random but I think I'm developing a penchant for Southern men. Even though I myself and a Southerner, I've never given much thought to men in terms of region. But recently I've been paying more attention to such difference and so far I've found certain things to be true. Now the majority of the guys I've gone out with have been from either the North or the West. And they came with varying manners and certain boldness that at first I really appreciated. But the few Southern men I've gone out with (I think in the beginning I was determined to date "outside" my region) have been great. Remember Jordan? Except for his Bible thumping, he was very attentive and affectionate, just like Mike. They both are all about making sure I was comfortable and gave me massages and just over all kinda pampered me. Usually it's the other way around and the guys want to make sure that they are comfy. So it's always nice when that flips around.

Of course, I don't want to be stereotypical. I'm sure there are non-Southern men out there that are just as attentive to their ladies. But this is my experience so far and I guess we'll see how it goes.

scullerymaid at 8:31 p.m.

pots | pans