December 08, 2010

Hypothesis

I thought I was invincible with my orange juice and clementines, but Mr. Cough and Ms. Mucus beat me anyway. I sound so nasty, my voice coming in and checking out as it pleases. And of course, there's that gross sick taste in my mouth that no amount of Listerine can seem to shake. I was on some Alka Seltzer, but maybe it's time to switch to Nightquil. I just want this thing to go away!

Exams are almost finished. I have two more, Art History and Spanish. Art History will be a breeze, but I'm not sure about Spanish since I've become rather apathetic toward the subject. When did that happen? I think my Anthropology exams went pretty well, though. I'm slightly disappointed with the conclusion I came up with for my sen sem paper. But after staring at a computer screen for 5 hours and only a sentence more added to the paper, I realized the final draft wasn't going to be as good as the rough draft. At least it's almost over, and honestly, as long as I come out with passing grades, that's all that matters. As long as I graduate with a 3.0 so I can get into grad school one day, I'll be satisfied and take what I can get. My high school self would be shaking her head right now...

I'm really excited about Anthropology though. Over winter break, if funds permit, I want to conduct an experiment. It's actual my Fear and Magic project, but I want to do it for real now that I'm not under the constraints of being in a group. You know, I came up with the hypothesis and method, but my partner was really cheap and not that great at working with me so we did it more her way than my way. But now I'm going to do it on my own for fun and see what kind of results I get. In the class, we were supposed to conduct an experiment to prove the existence of magic. My theory was that if fate was indeed real and we were all bound to it, then different divination techniques would have similar if not the same results. I wanted to have my palm and tarot cards read by two different mediums, and also maybe use numerology as well. Then I would compare and contrast the data and see if anything was significant enough to be in the favor of magic. I kinda want to have my aura read, too, so maybe I'll go ahead and throw that in the mix. My professor really liked my hypothesis and I'm a little bummed she didn't get to see it truly lived out. Maybe I'll send her my results for kicks.

scullerymaid at 2:42 p.m.

pots | pans