October 22, 2010

Charles in my dreams

Have I mentioned that I hate falling in love with fictitious characters? Well, I do! Recently, I've been spending a lot of time with Patricia Briggs and working my way through all her books. I was introduced to her through her Mercy Thompson series and now I just can't seem to put her down. After I ran out of Mercy books, I moved on to the Alpha and Omega series (which I do believe are my favorite books by her- I just love Anna and Charles. Especially Charles) and now as I eagerly await the next sequel, I've moved into books about Ward and other books about Aralorn.

Wonderful author, I tell you, wonderful! And you know what? It's not that I'm necessarily drawn in by the story. God know I felt like it took me forever to get through Dragon Bones. No, it's not the story, but the characters. I love all of her characters. She does such a good job at portraying them- even the evil ones. I love the relationships she develops, the depth that is formed. Did I mention that I'm in love with Charles? Maybe I haven't reiterated that point enough, haha.

So yes, I've been doing a lot of reading intent on exploring the Sci-Fi/Fantasy section at Barns and Noble. Another author I've run upon is Kelley Armstrong. Haven't really decided if I like her or not yet. I've also read the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlene Harris. I must say I prefer the books to the HBO series, but Patricia Briggs still owns my heart.

You know, it's so nice to be reading again. I swear I haven't read for pleasure most of my college career and now I find myself asking well, why not?!. I love reading! And I love writing. I've been writing a lot, too, subsequent to all the reading. Nothing much really. Heaven knows I've had the same story stuck in my head for six years and still haven't gotten beyond the prologue. So now I'm switching up the setting, throwing my characters into the 21st century to see if they like it or not. I guess they'll let me know soon enough.

Maybe one day I will become a writer. That would be amazing!

scullerymaid at 12:15 p.m.

pots | pans