August 09, 2010

LSU

So I'm thinking about applying to LSU, Louisiana State University. But I'm scared. One, I don't know if Creative Writing is really what I want to get my Master's in, but I'd rather do that than Spanish. I do think I want to work in Publishing. Would not a Bachelor's in Spanish and a Master's in Creative Writing help me out? Two, if I want to go to LSU, I'd without a doubt have to take the GRE. I've been dreading and avoiding the GRE like crazy...and now it's caught up to me. Three, I'd have to teach. Problem? I haven't taken any English classes. How am I supposed to teach?! I don't think a week of training is going to do the job. Now, if you want me to teach Spanish grammar, I'm the gal for the job. Four, did I mention that I have to write 20 pages of prose by January? Sounds easy, I know, but I've never written anything that long before. Where am I going to find the inspiration? Where am I going to find the time? What if I'm really not cut out to be a writer?

However, there are positive reasons to attending LSU. One, it's in the South. I am a born and raised Southern girl (belle- haha) and I frankly enjoy the culture that makes up the American South. I don't want to move up North, though quaint New England towns have attracted my attention. I don't want to move out West, though the landscape is unforgettable. I want to stay right here where I belong. Two, Louisiana is a hell of a lot closer to Virginia than Montana. I do want to go to Montana. There's a nice University there and it snows, but LA is closer to my family...even if grad school is only for two years. Three, if I get accepted into the program and agree to teach, my tuition will be waived. Yup, that's right. I could go to school for free. If I get accepted. Oh, and I would have to teach. Four, Baton Rouge sounds like a promising city where I could grow quite comfortable. And it's booming with culture!

But I just don't know, Diary, I don't know. It sounds so nice in theory. It really does. But the GRE terrifies me and I don't know if I can write. I might be a failure!

But what kind of attitude is that. I need to stop being lazy and just go out there and get it!

scullerymaid at 11:10 p.m.

pots | pans