January 28, 2009

Barcelona, Madrid, Andalucia

The other day while I was taking refuge in the student union because Artist and her bf were lounging in bed all day, I looked up study abroad prgrams. More so visiting Spain and working programs. Did you know you some families are looking for Au Pairs that speak English to watch their children. Spanish isn't even required. How cool would that be? I would be speaking my native language on the job and then could go out on the town and practice Spanish. Too bad kids don't like me...

I think it's amzing the job opportunities over there. And if you're hesitant about your Spanish, some places will send you through intensive training in courses that concern the job your taking on. For instance, if you're going to work in a hotel, you take Hotel Spanish and learn words and phrases common in that particular industry. And they pay you. You just have to pay the program fee. And some of the hotels you work in give you free room and board to work there plus pocket money.

Maybe I'll be brave. Maybe one summer I'll do a program. Especially in the hospitality biz. The career development people told me that's what I should be doing. Can you imagine? Perhaps someday I'll own my own hotelin Spain, top notch, and all the celebrities will flock there.

Yeah right.

I was also looking into internships here in America. I think scares me even more thna going to Spain. I feel like I don't have any skills that make me marketable. But I am a hard worker. And I like to make work more efficient. I don't think internships should require particular skills.It should be all about learning. If you don't know it, they should train you! I want to work with like a television program. Or event splanning. I wonder if they'll care that I'm not a business major. If I had a car I think I would check out temp jobs just to see what they hand me.

Anyway, I have Span homework I don't understand that I need to get on. It's due at 4 and my next classes start at 2.

scullerymaid at 10:15 a.m.

pots | pans