June 28, 2008

The grandma blues

Okay, this is what happened:

A little bit ago Grandma got a ticket for not having a plate on the front of her car (I'm not even sure her car has a place for a plate in the front...) Well, it turns out her license had been revoked back in September because she didn't have insurance on my Pontiac, which was in her name. But that car was released to the kidney foundation back in May 2007 and demolished in June 2007. She didn't have insurance on it because it no longer belonged to her.

So she was going to have to go to court on the 30th. At least, that's what the officer said. She didn't check the ticket. But it turns out her court date was really on the 25th and she missed it. I'm not exactly sure how she found that out or whatever or what she did, but where ever it was that she went (I'm assuming the courthouse here) they told her they had an arrest on her for not appearing in court. And they handcuffed her, put a chain around her waist and ankles, and stuffed her in the back of a police car. My 60 year old grandma! For not going to court over a car that has been nonexistent for a year now. She said it was the most humiliating thing that's ever happened to her.

Luckily, she was taken to the jail that my mom works at and my mom made some phone calls and straightened everything out. Grandma was scared she'd have to stay for the whole weekend.

Poor Grandma!

But now that it's over, I must admit it's a little funny. My grandma a felon!

scullerymaid at 1:26 p.m.

pots | pans