March 09, 2008

Hysterics

Sometimes I don't understand church. I went with Dad this morning because that's his thing and he wanted me to. I hate how I always feel like I'm display, but that's another story.

Anyway, so at the end there's the prayer. People are called up if they need to be specifically prayed for and before you know it, the majority of the congregation is standing around in a circle up front. And people start crying and shouting and convulsing and speaking in tongues. And I think it's just crazy.

I understand that sometime one may feel so convicted, all they can do is cry. But this one lady was shouting like a madwoman because she was filled with the spirit. And then other ladies did it. And it just seems so unnatural to me. Is that what the spirit does to you? If the spirit were to fill me, I'd think that I would feel happy. Elated even. Not become some shouting lunatic. It's scary watching people shake and fall to the floor.

I don't know. I just don't see why that's the way things are. Everyone is always crying. shouldn't it be more peaceful? More relaxed?

Guess I'm just not a church person. Not that church anyway.

scullerymaid at 12:27 p.m.

pots | pans