October 25, 2007

Milla- I pray you make it through the night

She's dying. Or maybe she's already dead. Either way, I probably will never see her again. Some may think it word that I'm so upset. they would say she's only a cat. I'll get over it. But she was my cat. Or at least, I took care of her. Technically, she belonged to Squirt. I don't know what he named her, but I called her Milla.

She's tiny, obviously a runt. She's barely grown since we got her. An eternal kitten. When she was still very young, she used to sleep under my blanket against my stomach. I was always afraid I would roll over and squish her, but I never did.

I hate the way she kneads into my skin. Her claws are extremely sharp.

Mom called me near an hour ago. Squirt had found her after school in the ditch. It's been raining all day. They don't know how she got in the ditch, but thought she was already dead, but she wasn't. So they've been wrapping her up in towels from the dryer, but her temperature won't rise. No one thinks she'll make it through the night.

And I'm an hour and a half away. I have no means to get there or even the time. I can't say goodbye. She's so adorable. I love that she never grew that big.

Why do I form such attachments to my pets? Why do I even bother getting one? I will always outlive them and will always feel the pain of their deaths. So why do I continue to do it?

I hope she makes it through the night and someone will take her to the vet. If I were there, I'd take her right now to an emergency one. Then she'd have at least a fighting chance...

Edit

She has a 20% chance of living. Doesn't sound very good, but Mom said she's been walking around and everything. So who knows? Maybe she'llbe fine...

scullerymaid at 1:01 a.m.

pots | pans