April 12, 2007

Next time i'll write in present tense

We escaped in the middle of the night. The door to the room next to us was jarred, and I thought we would be caught. So easily the woman, or her son, or her niece could peek through the door and see us packing. Excuses ran through my head wildly as I gathered my things, not making a sound. Then my heart stopped. Her head popped into our room.

"Is everything okay?" Her voice slurred slightly, the effect of too many beers from the bar next door.

I froze, backpack already strapped to my back. Did she know what I was doing? Could she see we were leaving without a word? I smiled. "Yes."

"Where's your mom?" I pointed to the little hall in front of the door, next to the bathroom. They exchanged words, but I didn't really listen. I took off my bag and sat at the table where my laptop was. What an actress I can be!

The woman left, but the door was a little more jarred than before. She wasn't stupid, was she?

I finished packing, praying that I haven't missed anything. I couldn't stay there. The guilt of just leaving coursed through me and gave me the chills. "I'm heading down." I whispered to my mom. I could hear the elevator ding in the hall. My mom nodded and my brother followed me out the door. I skipped past the elevator and out of sight behind the corner. The stairs seemed a much safer option, despite the fact that we were five flights up. By the time we emerged outside of the stairwell, Mom has made it to the parking lot.

We loaded up the car, and I drove us away, all the while feeling like a fugitive or something of that sort.

scullerymaid at 3:03 p.m.

pots | pans