February 23, 2007

My bracelet

I just put my bangle away in my desk and it breaks my heart. I've been wearing it for 6 or seven year- I can't remember if it was since fifth or sixth grade. I do remember that it belonged to Mom. I believe I found a matching pair in her jewelry box and she said I could have them. I wore them both- One on each wrist- until I gave one to my best friend. I've been wearing the other one every since, always on my left wrist. Now, it's not real silver. It's all tarnished and bent from always catching on things. But still I wore it, even in the shower. I never took it off because it was a piece of my mom always with me- my good luck charm.

But I was looking at it today and it's ready to break in half and I don't want that to happen so I took it off. I'm going to miss it. I feel naked so I've put on a temporary substitute bracelet, a pearl one. It's not the same.

But it's okay. I have a thumb ring that can act as my constant reminder of mom (she bought it for me at the zoo over the summer) and as a good luck charm. Maybe she can help me find another pretty bangle.

scullerymaid at 5:47 p.m.

pots | pans