February 12, 2007

Si�il a ruin

Si�il, si�il, si�il a ruin
Si�il go sochair agus si�il go ciuin
Si�il go doras agus ealaigh liom
Is go dte tu mo mhuirnin slan

Phonetic:
shule, shule, shule, a roon
shule go soccer agus, shule go kyoon
shule go dorrus agus aylee (or aylig) lum
iss go jay too mavoorneen slahn

I wish I were on yonder hill
'Tis there I'd sit and I'd cry my fill,
And ev'ry tear would turn a mill,
And a blessing walk with you, my love
( Or this for last line of every verse: Iss go jay too mavoorneen slahn.)

His hair was black and his eyes were blue
His arms were strong and his words were true
I wish in my heart that I were with you
And a blessing walk with you, my love.

Chorus:
Shule, shule, shule aroon
Shule go succir agus, shule go kewn;
Shule go dheen durrus oggus aylig lume,
And a blessing walk with you, my love.

I'll sell my rod, I'll sell my reel
I'll sell my only spinning wheel
To by my love a sword of steel
And a blessing walk with you, my love

Then the king, he was forced to flee
Took my love across the sea
I wish in my heart he were here with me
And a blessing walk with you, my love

I'll dye my petticoats, I'll dye them red
And 'round the world I'll beg my bread,
Until my parents shall wish me dead
And a blessing walk with you, my love

Come, come, come O love,
Quickly come to me, softly move,
Come to the door and away we'll flee,
And safe forever may my darling be.

Optional verses:

I wish, I wish, I wish in vain
I wish I had my heart again,
And vainly think I'd not complain
And a blessing walk with you, my love

But now my love has gone to France
To try his fortune to advance.
If he e'er come back, 'tis but a chance
And a blessing walk with you, my love

"I love this song"

scullerymaid at 10:29 p.m.

pots | pans