March 22, 2006

Jewelry

I'm so grateful for Popeguy. He really knows how to make a girl smile when she's down.

I'm happy to report that Mom made it home safely. Oh, how I worried about her flight. And I proved my fear to myself yesterday morning. I arrived at school early, and when I put my bookbag on, I didn't realize that my thumb ring had fallen off. Every piece of jewelry I wear has some kind of significance to me:
My claddagh ring represents my promise of abstinece until marriage to God and my future husband
My bracelet reminds me of the woman mom once was and I've worn it for nearly 6 years. My elementary school best friend has an exact copy
My class ring inspires me to keep up my academics and reminds me of my high school friends
My anklet was made one day when Romania stayed the week and reminds me of our friendship
My diamond earings were a gift from dad
My pebble necklace was a gift from Squirt
And Mom gave me my thumb ring the weekend before she left for Vegas. In my eyes, as long as I had it, she was safe. And when I discovered it misisng, this feeling of panic filled my chest. Fortunately, school hadn't started and I could retrace my steps and found it underneath my car. I don't know how many times I thanked God.

Speaking of jewelry, Mom brought me back a silver bracelet from Tijuana, Mexico and a Mexican dress. Actually, the air port lost the dress, so we're hoping we can get it back.

scullerymaid at 3:53 p.m.

pots | pans