November 17, 2005

Linguistics

Today in piano Mrs. P allowed one of her foreign exchange students come in and talk to us. The girl was from Uzbekistan, and she's staying for the whole school year. It's amazing how things are so different and yet so alike in her country. I'm not going to go into detail or anything, but it is amazing. And she speaks six languages and is studying french. Wow!

My piano teacher annoyed me though. She kept talking about how closed minded we are and how when we grow up our lives are going to be so different than they are now. Sure, there may be more cultures surrounding us when we're older, but I don't think we're closed minded. Yes, we're used to living the way we're living and therefore we're not going to think too much about what goes on in the world unless it directly affects our lives. And because we were asking questions that she would've asked we were being rude. Maybe she doesn't understand because she's older. But the girl didn't have a problem with our questions.

I'm just annoyed.

But I still can't believe she speaks 6- and soon to be 7- languages. And she's only 16! Wow. It's very inspiring.

Tonight's our first school play. So I have to hurry up and do my homework. I'm so glad tomorrow's friday.

"Guten Tag"

scullerymaid at 2:27 p.m.

pots | pans