August 26, 2005

The country life

I grew up in the country on my great grandmother's farm. It's not a farm in the sense that there are cows and horses and chickens (though some of those things were there before I was born, and there are a couple of barns) No, but there are about 17 acres of land and a couple of fields with one produce or another. My point is that I'm a country girl. Whenever I go out there, I feel this sense of home. I guess this is because over the past 16 years my family has moved at least 10 times, but the country has always been there. My Granny will always be there, and she practically raised me. At least the parts of my childhood that I remember involve her.

Well, today I found a bit of home right around the corner! Yup, nestled in my little suburban neighborhood is a lake. I couldn't believe it. Since we've moved here Squirt has been talking about it, but I wasn't going to go. All I could imagine is this disgusting pond surrounded with tall grass infested with mosquitos. How wrong was I!

It was actually quite nice. There was this picnic table that I sat at and somewhere I could hear a rooster. It was just a relaxing place- a good thinking place.

But it is private property so I was paranoid that the "Old Man", as my brother and his friends call him, would chase us off, but he didn't. He seemed quite nice to me... but that was from a distance. SoI guess it's fine.

"Once in a while kids need to experience a bit of country life. They just need to get a little dirty and climb some trees"

scullerymaid at 09:55 p.m.

pots | pans