October 14, 2013

It is what it is

My tire came in! See, my inspection is due in December and I need all four. Since I insist on driving a Pathfinder around, four tires isn't going to come cheap. So I'm just going to buy one each paycheck then I'll have someone install them for me. I might need to get a new bumper and grill assembly too. Not sure yet, but it's affecting the way one of my corner lights is hanging which makes me nervous. If I do need to get those, I'll install them myself. I'm hoping next weekend Thomas will do a quick inspection for me so I can figure out what I really need to buy now to pass, and what can wait until richer times. All this on top of trying to find a new place. It's going to be tuna and crackers for awhile. At least I eat well on the weekends.

It's still up in the air if I'm doing a macaroni or not next weekend. I probably will. I'm also debating on if I want to try my hand at snickerdoodles or maybe some kind of pie. But we all know that I don't have pastry fingers so I may need to go with the cookies again.

The other day I had a little conversation with my mother and she told me TJ and I are dating again whether I admit it or not. I don't know what to think of it. I suppose it's true. Nothing has really changed in our relationship except the title and living arrangement. Now that the seasons are getting cooler we've fallen into a certain groove that I've been trying to ignore. I don't mind the way things are with TJ right now so I'm not going to push any conversations. Lord knows it's easier to pretend not to date him then it is to go on date after date after date. I enjoy the familiarity and right now the good he adds to my life outweighs the heartache he once caused. I'm not saying I'm looking at this as some long term thing. I'm not imagining our wedding day or picking out baby names because I know one day one of us will decide to try and quit it again (though clearly the two times we've broken up didn't keep us a part for long). But for now, I'm content with things. I enjoy my weekend getaways and fixing up my car. It is what it is and that's that.

So here's to my next cooking adventure. Maybe one day I'll manage to start up my food blog again.

scullerymaid at 10:18 p.m.

pots | pans