October 13, 2013

In the kitchen again

I made cookies on Friday. And now they are gone. I can't bake things because when I do I become a sweets monster and devour everything I've baked until there is no more to be devoured. I also made a whole chicken for the first time in a crockpot. I'm not big into the crockpot. I understand it's advantages, but just never have been a fan. But recently it seems a lot of people have been making whole chickens in their crocks so I decided to give it a go. It smelled delightful and was as tender as can be, but a little plan for my general liking. So I made it into chicken quesadillas one night and chicken noodle soup the next night. I had hoped to make the soup from the stock I derived from my whole chicken...but it had a very strong lemon flavor and not everyone likes lemons as much I do so I froze the homemade stock for later experimentation and just made the soup from the box stock.

Now that fall has rolled back around, I've been doing a lot of cooking. Well, I've been doing a lot of weekend cooking because I tend to escape over to TJ's on those days and I figure if I'm there I might as well make use of the kitchen. See, I don't like to cook at "home" because there's cat hair everywhere and my roommates are usually in the kitchen anyway by the time I get home. Plus, I just don't like spending time there and can't wait to move again. I'm thinking the end of December, probably on my birthday weekend since I'm going to have five days off. I would love to live in a house, I just don't think I can afford it...which is funny because my last apartment cost just as much as TJ's mortgage. But maybe it'll be nice to live in an apartment. I don't know and I can't decide. I just want to start settling down. I'm tired of always being on the run. I don't know how other people do it.

Last weekend I mad pot roast. Whoever told you pot roast was an economical meal lied. Don't believe them. Your wallet will notice a little bit. Next weekend I'm thinking about doing a macaroni or maybe a pie. I really need to lay off the sweets though. I'm developing a habit that is going to become a problem.

scullerymaid at 11:57 p.m.

pots | pans