April 21, 2013

Tomorrow

Tomorrow is going to be the first day of the rest of my life. Well, I suppose tomorrow is always the first day of the rest of my life, but this particular tomorrow is going to be the first day I make some serious life style changes.

The first thing I'm going to do is give away all my booze. You know, I don't do that much drinking anyway. Then when I do drink, I have to really drink if I have any hopes of feeling even slightly tipsy. It's not worth the money. It's not worth the calories. It's not worth slowing down my metabolism. Like I said, drinking doesn't do all that much for me anyway. Might as well toss it out. Say hello to the new DD!

The second thing I'm going to do is throw away everything is my cupboards. That shouldn't be too hard considering they're pretty bare anyway. From now on, I"m eating fresh fresh fresh, even if that means I have to go to the grocery store every Sunday instead of once a month. More veggies. More fruit. Good protein. Less sugar, salt, and carbs. From hear on out it's "clean eating" for me...with maybe a once a week indulgence with friends. Maybe ever other week.

The third thing I'm going to do is create a routine for my day. Usually, I get up, go to work, come home, watch tv, maybe go to the gym, go to bed, then repeat the whole thing over again. Or I hop from work to Math's or TJ's, avoiding my poor little apartment (I have home issues). Well, from now on there is going to be slightly more structure in my life. Instead of rolling out of bed and into my car in the mornings, I'm going to get up early and do some sort of physical activity whether it be the gym or a video. Then I'm going to sit down and eat damn breakfast. I don't have to be at work until 9. I can surely accomplish these two things in the morning.

Honestly, it's not the watching my diet that worries me. I'm not sure if I have the discipline to get up earlier to go to the gym. I'm sure when my alarm clock starts going off, I''ll reason with myself that sleep is much more important than lifting weights. It sure is funny though because on the weekends I pop out of bed around 8 when I could sleep in all day if I wanted to. But when I actually have to get up in the mornings to go to work, it's like pulling teeth to make me open my eyes at 8:45!

So these are the three changes I'm making starting tomorrow. I'm going to get my body back on track before they try to put me on all kinds of medication. I've already started taking some vitamins to help me out in this battle. Cinnamon, vitamin D, biotin, fish oil. I'm not going to live the rest of my life pricking my finger to check my sugar levels. The only choice I have is to shape up. No more excuses. No more half-ass workouts. No more bad eating habits.

SO here's to tomorrow. Cheers!

scullerymaid at 2:00 p.m.

pots | pans