April 20, 2013

One thing and another

Well, I guess I better start making confessions. The more I talk about it, the less scary everything seems. The doctor at Patient First last week told me that the sugar in my urine was pretty high. As in, not good high. That didn't surprise me all that much. I'd been nursing a bottle of soda all day to settle the pain in my stomach, plus infections in the body raise sugar levels anyway. Either way, he was convinced that I had diabetes and urged me to see my normal health practitioner (I need to remember to make an appointment on Monday).

I wasn't quite as convinced, however. For one, I didn't have any of the symptoms. No frequent urination (minus the week with the bladder infection), no blurry vision, no tingling sensations, among other things I found on the web. For two, I don't consume all that much sugar. I don't eat a lot of sweets, I hardly ever drink soda. Even pasta/other carbs have gone down on my list of favorite foods. Seriously, I live off of cereal and turkey sandwiches. I also drink 3 liters of water a day. My diet isn't great. I could definitely use some more fruits and veggies and perhaps a little less protein, but I don't eat a lot of junk food. Finally, I am not a couch potato. I usually make it to the gym three times a week for an hour at a time. I could probably up my efforts, but at lest the effort it there.

Also, let's not forget that diabetes does not run in my family. Heart problems, yes, diabetes no. I didn't finally get my blood pressure in check (through exercise and portion control) to end up with this shit. Even if I was doomed for diabetes, the few people in my family who did develop it were in their sixties. I'm only 24. This is going to affect me for the rest of my very long life.

But there isn't a need to panic just yet. I still need to go see what my own doctor says. If anything, seeing that I have no symptoms, I might be pre-diabetic. In that case, I'm cutting out all processed foods and am seriously thinking about investing in a better workout. Insanity, anyone? I hear that has great results if you put in the discipline.

Maybe this could be a good thing. A real excuse to get into better shape. Lord knows my food blog could use some healthier recipes. The first thing I want to make is sugar-free jam. I've been meaning to break into the canning world anyway.

ON a happier note, I drove all the way up to Williamsburg last night to have dinner with my dad, his girlfriend, and her son. It was very nice and the best meal I've had in awhile- roasted chicken, rice, and garlic bread. I should take more time to sit down and eat like that more often. After dinner, we talked about seeing doctors, and then I had them sit down with me to go over my finances. My nice apartment sucks all the money right out of me, leaving little over to buy some good groceries...which is definitely going to have to happen from now on. If I don't want my veins to explode, nutrition is top importance right now.

It was a lovely evening. I really like my dad's girlfriend. We sat in the kitchen talking for near four hours. My mom would kill me if she knew, but in all honesty she reminds me of a tame version of my mother. They grew up in the same area. They have a similar, bold personality. It's nice to have her around while my mom is off in Farmville doing whatever it is she's doing. Her son is nice to. He's 17, a year younger than my brother. It was the first time I've met him.

Speaking of my brother, I visted him on Easter Sunday. He looks well, but is just as pigheaded and stubborn as ever. I'm not sure this experience is benefiting him the way I had hoped. But maybe once he gets out and is forced to live with Dad and Dawn, his eyes will be opened. My dad may be lenient, but Dawn is not going to play around with him.

My cat is pissing everywhere because he thinks he is too fancy for the litter box. I took him to the vet to double check for a uti, but I think the little fellow is just a prick of a cat. He thinks he's the king of Pride Rock, but last time I checked I was the head lion.

*Thank you Stepfordtart for your thoughts. It's always appreciated. I have a mind to have a go at making some pasties here soon <3

scullerymaid at 11:19 a.m.

pots | pans