January 05, 2013

Glad I left Newport News!

Today I was so pissed. I went to DMV early this morning to renew the registration on my car because...it's been expired since October. Oops! For some reason I thought it wasn't up til Feb but that's neither here nor there. Anyway, so I went to DMV this morning, waited an hour for my turn, then went up to the window ready to shuck out a ridiculous amount of money for a car as old as mine is. The lady at the counter was friendly enough and I was excited to finally not worry about being pulled over by coppers. Then she turned to me and said that Newport News has a hold on my registration because I haven't paid my personal property taxes.

What?! I couldn't believe it because I paid my taxes on December 5th and it was processed by my bank on the 7th. I even have a receipt showing that I paid the damn thing. But DMV can't do anything until Newport News lifts the hold, and of course the treasurer is closed on Saturdays. Talk about a shitty situation. I can't begin to explain how upset I was. Unbelievable.

At least the post office was open and gave me no trouble, though I feared the lady and I were going to have a minor dispute about the tape on my package. But it worked out! Then TJ and I went grocery shopping. I'm hoping I planned it out correctly since this is my final month here. I actually sat down and planned out 5 dinners for each of my remaining weeks here and bought all those groceries today, separated them out, and froze what needed freezing. We'll see if it works out or not I guess.

I was supposed to go see my brother tomorrow now that they finally moved him to his final destination to serve up his time. But I'm going to postpone until next week so as not to drive around with expired tags that far away. I hope he's not too disappointed in me. I hear my mom hasn't been visiting him regularly. Thank God for my dad. He's a great dad.

My kitty seems to be warming up to me rather nicely finally. I still don't know about the name, but he doesn't respond to anything right now anyway except for the shaking of the food bag. Cats...We also have issues finding the litter box. We're gonna have to crack down on that. At least, I assume it's the kitten's work and not that of Toby.

scullerymaid at 4:22 p.m.

pots | pans