April 23, 2012

Drop ship

I haven't been working for a week and I'm already freaking out about money. I need to find another job. For one, I become a paranoid little ninny without a sustainable income (although, mu bills are very little). Secondly, staying home all the time is so boring! It'd be one thing I suppose if I was chasing little kiddies around (which by the way, after moving in with TJ and cleaning up after him and feeding him...I respect every woman that decides to be a homemaker- it really is like a whole job unto itself) or if I could expand my garden and do more work with it. But mostly, I read and fiddle on the internet. I do little garden projects that honestly don't take up a lot of time. Then I cook and clean.

But I'm not in a big rush to find some sort of corporate job. The prospect of working 9-5 does not excite me. The thing I did enjoy about Panera was the flexibility of my schedule before they started cutting hours. I told them I can work mornings M-Th and that's what I got. M-th 7-2. It was the perfect schedule (minus getting up at 6am)!

Plus, I don't really want to sit at a desk all day. That's what TJ does and he complains about it all the time. And his back is always so stiff. The man cracks and pops like a bundle of fireworks! I'm thinking about maybe trying to apply at a garden nursery since I'm becoming so green. Or I would love to work at a stable and get back into horseback riding. I'm taking mom for Mother's day and I'm so excited! I think all these ideas are coming from my country-girl mentality. I'm not afraid of hard work, as long as I can get home in time to cook dinner, which I really do enjoy doing! Maybe I'll apply at the local zoo. That would be an active job.

Or maybe I should just grow up and stop stalling. I just want to do something extraordinary. I don't want to dread going to work everyday like so many people I know. The money isn't worth it to me. I've been poor all my life, struggling from paycheck to paycheck. It might not be an ideal lifestyle and I do stress out, but at least I'm not caged. But thinking this way is probably stupid on my part.

But speaking of dinner, last night I was craving french toast and so made a french toast casserole. In my opinion, it was pretty genius. The recipe needs a bit of tweaking, but otherwise I am so making it again.

One day I really am going to start a blog dedicated to cooking. Ha, then maybe I'll get some book deals and can put all these job woes to rest. Also, TJ thinks we should start an online drop shipping business. It really isn't as far-fetched as some of his business ideas have been. I wouldn't mind having our own business. At least, I'd be working for myself. He wants to sell dirt bike parts because the selection around here is slim. I don't know what I would want to sell, but I think MX stuff is a good start.

If TJ and I make it for the long haul, my plan to get him to move to the country is to talk him into building a dirt bike track. The one we go to right now is in Carolina. They let people onto their property for a small fee. We could do that. Then he could have his toys and his riding and I could live out where I feel the most at home.

scullerymaid at 11:15 a.m.

pots | pans