February 13, 2012

Lost bread

On no! I went to the grocery today to pick up a few cheap items to hold me over for the next week...and I walked right out the store without the bag with my bread and pasta in it. For some reason I had it in my mind that the cashier had stuffed everything into one bag. But when I got home I discovered that not to be so. I was so looking forward to my cream cheese sandwiches, too! Ah well, looks like I'll be snacking on cereal instead.

Good thing I have lots of money to waste.

The other day when TJ and Torey (his younger brother) helped me move the rest of my stuff over, we decided to go out for Mexican after. While there, somehow we got onto the subject of introverts and extroverts. TJ, without doubt, is an extrovert. Torey is an extreme introvert. I fall somewhere in between, though I really consider myself to be introverted. I just happen to have the occasional extroverted outburst. TJ does not agree with this. For half the night he was trying to convince me that I was indeed extroverted and just a little on the quiet side. Uh no. I do not enjoy crowds and I do not feed off of other people's energy. Though I enjoy going out, I'd much rather stay in and my drunken behavior does not make me an extrovert either. Crazy boy!

Yesterday we went over to his parents' house for dinner. They finally know that I moved in, but only because Torey told them that he was using his truck to help us. I wonder how long TJ would have waited to tell them otherwise. Oh, well. No biggie. His mom did help me file my taxes though and it will be such a relief to get that money. Before dinner we played a dice game called Farkle. It was so much fun! It gets pretty intense too! I'm sure the rules are online. I'd never heard of it before but his mom wanted to play so we all sat around the table and rolled. And I won! I really thought I was going to come in last, but in the very end I pulled through. Now I really want to buy some dice. Some die...?

I'm also hoping the check for my car will come in this week. Today I had no way to get to work and had to call out. I always feel so guilty when I call out. I don't know why. It's not like they can't find someone to cover me. But still, this car thing is not very convenient. I've been seriously considering getting a car since it would do better on gas, but I can't find one I like in my price range. And I think it would break my heart to go without a larger vehicle. Plus, if TJ ever decides to kick me out, it's easier to live out of an SUV than a baby car haha. Not that I foresee that happening. The other day I told him he does too much for me, spend too much money on me, is more generous to me than necessary and he told me one day I'm going to be a successful business woman, move out into a fancy house and he's going to be begging to live in my basement. He's such a silly willy. I truly am grateful for him.

Not that he doesn't still frustrate me to the point that I want to pull out my hair and gnash my teeth. This whole weekend he's been driving the shit out of me. Just little tiny minuscule tifts that we have. They aren't really that big of a deal but it's enough to make me want to kick him over and over again and maybe toss his xbox out the window. I think it's mostly just the two of us getting used to each other in a new way, you know? I kept asking myself if moving in was a good idea, but I know that's just my feet talking. We just need to adjust, especially since we aren't as affectionate as other couples seem to be. Maybe affectionate isn't the right word, because there is affection, trust, and concern between us. I don't know how to describe it. But we must be doing something right!

Anyway, he left for New Jersey today for a business trip. Some training classes he has to take. Poor thing didn't want to go. What he really wants to do is take a vacation. Neither of us really have the money to do so, so I told him to take a staycation. Just stay home, relax, and do some housework. I like those types of things. I'm a little sad that he'll miss Valentine's Day, but this will give him more time to work on his card. I'm quite proud of my card. Maybe I'll get around to posting pics.

I really need to find a new job that is closer to home now, but I want to do something more meaningful that making sandwiches and tossing salads or ringing people up at some convenience store. I've been hunting for some type f full time work, possibly in education but all I can find so far in p/t stuff. TJ says I should just work p/t anyway. He has this notion that I shouldn't work that much or that I should work from home. I can't fathom why, but I'm thinking because his mom was a stay at home mom and only worked part time off and on. Don't get me wrong, the idea of staying home and being able to be crafty is intriguing, but I'd rather earn my own money and I'm sure I'd get bored real quick. Maybe if I had children I would think differently. Speaking of which, I haven't freaked out about my period in a long time, but it didn't come last week. But the week before there was a bit of spotting so I guess I'm fine. As much as I love kids, I'm so not ready for that yet.

I wonder if TJ is the guy I'm going to end up with? Sometimes the fantasy is so clear in my mind, and then I think of the bigger issues we need to work on and know that I would say no if he asked without hesitation. But maybe one day. All relationships have their imperfections. Isn't that what makes it worth it? But there are some things I'd rather improve upon first.

I did manage to get him naked for a spell the other night though. It took a little sneaky bribing, but I managed it! Hahaha that's a start.

I can't think of what to cook him for our Valentine's dinner when he gets back. I was thinking pasta, but I'm not sure. Some alfredo or lasagna?

scullerymaid at 11:25 a.m.

pots | pans