June 09, 2017

Sushi Time

Slowly but surely, I am taking charge at work. I hope I don't come to regret demonstrating leadership. Already, the boss has noticed. In fact, after closing last night, he initiated a chat with me about how the business is doing and how service needs to improve. So what did I do today? I created a sidework checklist to make sure that A. everyone knows what is expected of them (which seems to be an issue) and B. that everyone is held accountable for doing work. We had a checklist like that back when I worked at Panera. It's annoying, but handy. We'll see how the girls feel about. The boss and I both agree that the people aren't necessarily the problem; it's the training. So I've also taken it upon myself to make sure I have the most interaction with the newbies. Believe it or not, I seem to be most patient with them, more forgiving, and more encouraging, unlike the other "leader" amongst us. Truthfully, I thoroughly enjoy training. I like the one-on-one interaction. And I really enjoy being appreciated for the above mentioned characteristics that I apparently possess. Oh, I also decided to take over scheduling since what the other girl was putting out was a nightmare. Everyone was complaining about it, and she made it so much more complicated than it needed to be. So far people seem to be happy with mine, or if they aren't, they aren't telling me. But I hope I have created a warm environment in which people find me approachable. If only I had demonstrated this sort of leadership in my office job. I really like it. How can I turn this skill into a more lucrative career...?

In other news, I've started going to the gym. by "started" I mean for approximately two weeks I've managed to force myself out the door, hop in my car, and drive wearily to Planet Fitness. Then I spend 20 minutes on the weight machine, skip cardio, and reward myself with a trip to Aldi, which is across the street. I suppose I' not putting forth much effort, but I have managed to go practically every other day. That's something. It's a start. I'm working on my muscles I guess. Cardio will come in time. It's so strange because I really do enjoy running. I feel so good after a run. but good luck trying to convince me onto the treadmill. God forbid I eye down the elliptical. In time, I'll improve. What I really need to focus on is cleaning up my diet. I don't feel like I eat horribly, but I don't eat well either. So I've downloaded both My Fitness Pal and My Plate to start tracking calories. This tech age makes it so easy to track. The scanning barcode feature is my absolute favorite part. The exercise portion of each app could be improved though.

Summer has been quiet and uneventful. I've discovered a new love for audio books Currently, I'm reading Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay. Keep my thoughts sharp. I don't agree with everything she says, but she's the kind of person I'd love to meet and pick her brain. I find her essays incredibly relateable. I'm questioning my own experiences, or sense of experiences. Also, she makes me feel okay about wanting to stay in academia. I'm tempted to start writing my own essays for practice. Perhaps once I'm down with this book (only three more hours of listening to go), I'll check out some of her fiction.

Brian and I are doing well. I actually don't have much to say about our relationship at the moment. We had a really weird fight a few weeks ago. I don't even know what it was about, but it left me unsettled for awhile. Mostly because I wasn't sure what it was about. But we've been in fine spirits since. We've even been having more sex. We average maybe only once a week, but June has proved to be very active. I only know this because I have an app on my phone to track my cycle, and it also has an option to tract intimate encounters. I actually don't think it's a great idea to track when one has sex, especially if one partner is in favor of more sex and the other is in favor of less sex, so I've been thinking about abandoning this whole practice. Then maybe I wouldn't find it to be such a source of resentment. I haven't quite decided yet. I've been tracking my sexual encounters since I became sexually active. Maybe I'm crazy. Or maybe I was trying to be safe and responsible. But is that necessary anymore now that I' in a healthy, stable, loving relationship? I really don't think it is. It's just a hard habit to let go of.

Living with Brian, I do a lot of cooking. Far more cooking than I've ever done before. Which is probably why we both have gained 20 pounds in the last two years. I think our real problem is eating out too much, but mostly, snacking at night after we get off work. Either way, I enjoy the cooking and am thinking about blogging about it again. I have so much free time right now and I could spend it more productively. But I'm also lazy about the whole thing, and I don't know if I'd keep it up once the semester starts up. I mean, I don't even maintain this poor diary anymore. Because I'm never on my computer. Also, I hate my computer. But I don't want to be so lazy about everything all the time anymore. I like to stimulate my brain. So why not stimulate it?

Brian and I are also pretending that we'll take a three day vacation in august. It's mostly my idea so it really depends on whether or not I can save the money for the plane tickets. This seems like an impossible feat in my mind, especially with business at the restaurant being so slow, but it's a goal nonetheless. I really wish I could sell my car. I hate having a car payment. But, even though we have public transportation, I don't want to have to rely on that sort of system. And everywhere I drive to is...not far away, but in other cities and I feel as though that would be a nuisance. Maybe I'll try taking the bus somewhere just for fun. I think relying on Uber or Lyft would be too expensive. But maybe not $500 a month expensive. Hmm... But my car has always been my freedom and independence. I wonder if I could really give it up.

Anyway, there's an update! I'll try to be better. I've had this little internet diary for so long, I feel guilty not maintaining it the way I used to.

New baby idea that Brian and I have: Saoirse. I like it because it's unusual. He likes it because it's Irish.

scullerymaid at 3:27 p.m.

pots | pans