June 16, 2017

Ovulation

Tonight some guy at work called me a Nazi. He meant it as a joke, a bad joke, and it didn't really bother me at the time because I was in a hurry and didn't have time to do anything more than chuckle and move along, but the more I think about it, the more agitated I become. Do you know why he called me a Nazi? Because I would clear dirty/used plates from the table every time I happened to pass by. Seriously? And then he went on to say how it's actually a good thing because I could have the opposite problem of never clearing the plates. I just found it to be ridiculous because the tables aren't all that big and they ordered food in stages. It benefited me to clear one set of dishes to make room for the next. Hmph. I just don't even know what to think of it.

Anyway, I've officially decided to go off birth control. I told Brian, explained my reasons, and he understands. I won't say that he's not nervous, and he has definitely decided to start using condoms, but he thinks that I bring up a lot of good points. First and foremost, I want to be in touch with my body. I want to understand how it works. I mean, I know in theory what happens, but I've never bother to try to experience it. I'm talking ovulation here, and tracking the stages of my cycle. And once I got it down, we can factor sex in when I'm not close to ovulation. Aside from being one with my body, I want to quit the pill because we don't really know what the long term effects of birth control are. At least, according to the 10 page paper I submitted for my Women Writer's course last semester we don't. And I've been on the pill for awhile. I don't want it to have any negative effects on my fertility. I'd like to start having kids soon. And I want to understand my fertility before I do so. If that make any sense. Also, I want to see how coming off effects my emotions. I feel so crabby all the time. What if...it's the bc? And who knows. Maybe coming off will help me with weight loss. I hear that's a thing. Another big reason for me, though, is the fact that my fucking insurance company has stopped covering my birth control. It's really annoying. I'm tired of the hassle. None of my meds are covered anymore and I'm super frustrated with how much I'm paying right now. This is one way to at least eliminate one unnecessary expense. I have a single stable partner. I'm not as worried about unexpected pregnancies anymore. Not that I want an unexpected pregnancy. But through tracking, I should still be able to avoid that until we're ready.

So yeah. I downloaded this ovulation tracking app, and I've started taking my temperature every morning to monitor any spikes. I'm actually pretty excited. You know, being on birth control I don't experience certain side effects of a menstrual cycle. So I'm super curious to see what happens. I just hope my periods aren't too heavy or too excruciating. Right now, they're a walk in the park so that would be a bummer. But I'll take it!

scullerymaid at 12:10 a.m.

pots | pans