October 20, 2010

Anthropology:3 - Me:2

Oooh! I almost forgot. I got one of my Anthropology assignments back today- and got an A+. I find this to be extremely ironic because this morning before my internet died I had been in the middle of writing a little rant about how I didn't think my grades would ever improve in that class. That my brain just didn't know how to think like an anthropologist and I was doomed to fail- fail a subject that I wanted to make a career out of. How daunting! Then I got an A+ on the paper (take note that in the paper I'm writing from the perspective of a refugee and not an anthropologist. Just think about that...). Of course, one A is going to have a hard time combating one F, but maybe if more A's join the battle the fight will be mine! This is what I hope anyway. My fingers are going to break off I have them crossed so tightly. So yeah, today I was beaming as I walked to class, breaking out in little happy dances.

But sometimes I wonder if my fantasy-prone brain is too stuck in a dream world to succeed in a scientific field. Do you know that all my writings sound like stories? Yup, Spanish papers, French papers, Art History papers, and now Anthropology papers. They all sound like stories, a writing habit I just can't seem to break. Most of my professors find the quirk entertaining, a fresh perspective. I just hope whoever ends up reading my personal statement will feel the same way.

scullerymaid at 3:15 p.m.

pots | pans