December 29, 2005

Nutritional anthropology

It's often that I find myself thinking about the future. It's a ponder nver far from my mind. The future scares me. There are so many things that could happen. Bad things. Good things. Things that don't really matter. And not knowing what I want or what's going to happen just knaws at me like there's no tomorrow and it drives me crazy.

So there's the chef thing. But I don't want to spend all day in a hot kitchen. Or at least I don't know if I want to. I love to cook. Cooking is my passion. Food is my passion. But when I see what restaurant kitchens are like on tv, it looks like a major stress zone and I want no part in it. So that's why the idea of having my own little cafe came to me. But I can't just open up a cafe after college. That kinda thing takes money and I don't have money.

But...

I have another passion. History. I love history. Myths and legends and the such are my thing, but I love the fact that I know the story of Cleopatra and Caesar. That the first people to invent suspensing machinces, similar to the gumball machine, were the Greeks, though the inventors name escapes me. A couple of my favorite shows are History's Mysteries and (sometimes) Modern Marvels. I like the History channel.

So maybe...

I could be a nutritional anthropologist. I can tell you that the Gyro wasn't invented in Greece, but in a Greek community in New York in the early to middle 1900's. Or that jerky was first created by accident because a cave man in africa, who happened to be carrying a raw piece of meat, was chased up a tree by a hyena. See, isn't all that neat? Combining history and food. But I can't find a college that offers the course. I can't even find information about nutritional anthropology online.

Time is running short. Not really, but it seems like it.

scullerymaid at 4:35 p.m.

pots | pans