January 11, 2017

Tonto

Today is a good day.

It took me long enough, but I finally found a new doctor here in Portsmouth. I like her. All my numbers are a little high (which I expected), and I really appreciated that her immediate response wasn't to medicate me. Having a new doctor is like starting from scratch. We'll see how I do over the next three months, and then she'll decide if I need extra treatment. We both agreed that I should focus on losing the 15 pounds I've put on in the last 6 months.

I don't think I've mentioned it yet, but I'm considering going vegetarian. Well, that's not precisely true. I don't think I could go off meat completely, and frankly, I don't want to. So maybe going 80/20 vegetarian. Eating less meat and trying to make veggies the highlight of my meals. Yesterday for lunch I made a broccoli with garlic sauce stir fry. It was very tasty...but not satisfying. I still felt hungry after. I always feel hungry, and when I'm really hungry I definitely fall victim to being HANGRY. Poor Brian... I really do want to also focus on eating less carbs. I don't feel like I eat that many, but they do sneak up on you. If all goes to plan, I'm going to start keeping a food journal. I couldn't tell you what I eat in any given day, which probably is a bad thing since I'm a diabetic.

I really don't like the keys on my new laptop. They don't have a lot of give, so I make a a lot of typos, missing letters on every word, and having to constantly go back and correct. It's ridiculous! But I don't want to exchange it for another one. It was a good price and so far it's a fine computer for what I paid, but this typo thing is driving me crazy. I hope it gets better. Typing has become quite the exercise. My fingers are already cramping from these few paragraphs here.

Due to the snow, class has been delayed for two days, so today will be my first day of class. Native American Literature. I'm very excited. This is what I think I want to specialize in so hopefully this course gives me a taste of what the discipline is like so I can decide if it's what I really want to do. Then maybe I'll finally be able to write my personal statement. Speaking of which, I finally met one of Brian's friends. It only took two years. And I do mean one of his friends, and not someone that he met through his ex. FINALLY! He wasn't what I expected, and yet upon meeting him, I'm not surprised at all that this person is a friend of Brian's. A little awkward. Extremely intelligent and analytical. He's actually in the grad program for which I want to apply. Well, his focus is Rhetoric and mine is Literature, but they are both in the same department. He gave me some input about the department and applying process, which I greatly appreciated. In fact, I think it made me not want to continue on with this second degree linked program and just go ahead and apply for the graduate program in the fall. Maybe. This semester is going to be much more challenge than last semester, so I'm hoping it will give me a better taste of what it's like to be back in school. Last semester was a breeze. I will say that I'm glad a started off on this second degree track even if I don't finish it. I really do feel that it's giving me the foundation in Literature that I felt I lacked. That doesn't necessarily make me feel more prepared for grad school, but it makes me feel a little better. And at least I'm doing something, right?

So many typosssss!

I've decided that I want to plan Valentine's this year. I don't know exactly what to do yet. There's this little Greek restaurant I want to check out, but outside of that, I'm clueless. For Christmas, Brian got me a record player, so I went ahead and bought this rare record soundtrack of this game he likes, which I plan on giving him for V-day, but I don't know what other activities we should do. Maybe I'll take him to Richmond. Or we could plan a day trip to DC. I have times to think about it. We'll be working anyway, so will most likely celebrate a little late.

Also, I want to announce that I am making great progress in paying off the debt I've been accruing over the years. I am most assuredly still poor and quite broke, but in the last year I have paid off two big loans, and one maxed out credit card that I had had for YEARS! Hallelujah! I still have some ways to go, but I'm very pleased with myself. It may be too ambitious, but I really want to be out of all debt (except student debt) by this time next year. And except for my car. I doubt I can pay off the car in a year. But all the ridiculous debts can go, thank you. I guess we'll see.

scullerymaid at 1:38 p.m.

pots | pans