April 15, 2012

Raising up

So. I've spent my evening watching gardening videos and I kind of want to convert my garden from a plain old bed into a raised bed. My only fear with this is that I would have to transplant my veggies and they could go into shock and DIE! The reason I want to go through all this trouble is because when mom and I tilled up the ground, she thought it was alright to leave a tiny tiny bit of grass in it and now I'm thinking that grass is vying for nutrients against my tomatoes and zucchini. Well, if I plant above the grass I won't have that problem. It might not really be a problem and perhaps the work isn't worth it, but after tomorrow I will be officially unemployed and have nothing else productive to do with my time. Plus I really want my plants to grow so I can learn the fabled art of our great-grandparents- pickling! Also, if i implement this new plan of a raised bed, I can turn it into a square foot garden and plant more in less space. I could rearranged the plants I already have and add goodies such as corn, cucumbers, beets, and perhaps some more peppers. The only major obstacle I see is the fact that I have no more income popping into my account every other week. Maybe I could find a seasonal job working at a nursery to increase my gardening knowledge. Hmmm....

I also plan on growing a lemon tree in a pot since TJ won't let me plant any trees. He actually thought it was a cool idea when I mentioned it tonight.

scullerymaid at 11:51 p.m.

pots | pans