October 31, 2010

Fisher

You know, sometimes it's just so hard to shake certain people out of your life. Take Bonadio for instance. I want to love her. She and I had a very good friendship. But I'm so glad that everyone sees what I was talking about when I said she becomes kinda flaky after awhile. You know, bailing on plans every chance she gets and coming up with lame excuses. Then she acts all happy go lucky when she comes face-tof-face with you. I hate it, and now other people are seeing it too. Anyway, so I've come to the realization that we aren't going to be the really good friends that we once were. So I don't really like to be around her all that much. Well, that's been ruined! Popeguy and I are taking a moderen language class next semster and he invited her to take it with us! There are two sections. I told him I was in the first one so he said he would take the first one, too. You know, our final hoorah here in undergrad. And now she, by his request, is taking the first section too. I don't want to be a threesome anymore. Ugh. But that's just me and I'll get over it. Whatever. I'm not worried or nearly as possessive as I once was. Popeguy and I have tested our friendship in so many ways, you could tell me that he had joined the military and was going to Antartica and I probably wouldn't flinch, fill with complete confidence and faith when it comes to the two of us.

Okay, enough about Popeguy. Today I decided to go work at Panera again. It's not my ideal, but I think it will work to my advantage. I really want to get an internship next semester and it's really ease to tweek my hours here since I've been here for so long. I also made it clear I only wanted closing shifts, wasn't working weekends, and sure as hell wasn't going to be doing prep anymore. This is good because I'm already trained and can bring some bacon in while looking for an anthropology internship. And pay for Christmas presents! If I don't find an internship, I could always go apply at Samurai then. I don't know, I just know that I can't live off my savings forever. Besides, a few people have been fired this weekend which makes it the perfect opportunity for me to pop back in. Work the system, right?

I think I'm just ready to be around people again and Panera is a good starting point. After partying this weekend, I realized that I do miss hanging out and taking drives and grabbing food. I think it was this guy Jeremy that convinced me of that. He's one of my navy friends (and one of the guys trying to take my v) and we talked about the whole work thing and it just made sense. It was just the whole talking thing that felt good. I've been silent for so long. Plus the one guy and I talked a lot while cuddling and even if I don't need to be around people 24/7, I do need to come out of my cave at least once a month to reconnect and have fun. I'm young! Why would I want to waste my youth being held up in my apartment? I'm sure eventually I'll start pulling away again, but I've had lots of fun this weekend and next weekend looks promising too.

Speaking of fun, I feel a little awkward. So the guy I was making out with the other night gave me his number. That has never happened before. Usually my little make out sessions are a one time deal. That's it. We never talk again, having gotten what we need so to speak from the other party. So what am I supposed to do with this number? Did he give it to me because he wants me to call him...or was it just some customary thing of his? I don't know. It kinda wigged me out. But to be polite I texted him anyway and that went on for a little bit. He made fun of my next and I promised to return the favor. And now I feel awkward. But hey, it's whatever, right? I guess we'll see what happens. Maybe a more permanent make-out buddy? I'm telling you, this guy was my favorite by far. It was...nice.

Well, that's the update on my life. I have papers coming up and presentations and exams and all that jazz that makes me crave winter break. And I'm still procrastinating on the whole grad school thing...

scullerymaid at 2:28 p.m.

pots | pans