July 20, 2016

Flood waters

My poor car has taken a beating! Last night, we had an awful storm- raging. The power flickered on and off through out the night, and thunder seemed to explode directly above the roof. And it flooded. Boy did it flood! So after the rain calmed down, we went out to investigate and I swear there was nearly a foot of water on the passenger side of my car. We were literally scooping cups of water out of the floor and tried sopping it up as best we could with towels. It's still on the wet side and I'm hoping the baking soda we sprinkled down helps. To make matters worse, it looks like someone sideswiped the drivers side. It's nothing too horrible to look at. There aren't any deep gashes, but a car without doubt scraped itself along the side.

I swear, I'm never buying a new car again. If all this had happened to the pathfinder, I would've shrugged and moved on without so much as a frown. What's another scratch in a 20 year old vehicle? But I just got the Prius in March. And though the damage isn't as bad as it could be (my neighbor had a tree branch fall on his car- took the rear window out and crush the whole of the back!), it's quite disheartening, especially since I'm still a little nervous about all these life changes I've made. It seems as soon as I decided to wait full-time, the restaurant has hit a slow spell and I'm not making as much money as I need to. But Brian doesn't seem to be concerned and has promised not to kick me out if I don't manage to pay as much as I want to, so that's nice at least. He's been really great through all of this.

But my old land lady has put a hold on returning my deposit because there's mold in the apartment and that is somehow my fault? I'd bet the whole deposit that the mold was there before I even moved in. But I've decided not to let that get to me. The last thing I need right now is negativity in my life so I'm going to let them deal with the mold issue and be thankful for any money I get back from it.

Hmph

scullerymaid at 3:19 p.m.

pots | pans