April 24, 2016

No more cube for me please

Odd as it sounds, I really like working as a server on the weekends. My Saturdays are long- I literally work a 12 to 13 hour shift- but I enjoy the work. It's active. I'm not locked down to a cube all day. People find me to be sweet and charming, which is a great confidence boost. I have regulars that request me! It seems like such a weird thing. What? They want me, specifically, to be their server. I'm flattered! My boss at the office recently had a sit down with me encouraging that I move onto something else. That I was in an entry level position and had clearly outgrown it. She also suggested that customer service may not be my forte, but working at the restaurant is proof enough that my people skills are not the issue. I love working with people. I love making sure the restaurant is running smoothly. I look forward to working on the weekends because I've grown to resent my other job so much.

So I've decided to quit. Only, I don't know what else to do. I updated my resume and have been applying to different positions, but they're all the same thing. Some office job that I'm going to grow to resent sooner rather then later. There's nothing wrong with an office job, but I find it so draining. And I know sitting around all day contributed to my diabetes. So I want to take this as am opportunity to do something different... Or below my skill set. Is it awful that I'm actually considering serving full time? Crunching the numbers, I'd bring in the same amount of money that I bring in working my not so fancy big girl office job. I prefer restaurant hours more than I prefer office hours. And if I'm being honest, if I don't manage to go back to grad school, dreams of opening up a cafe or bakery still tempt me. I'm just a big old scaredy cat.

I'm almost done with my grad application. Just trying to finish up my personal statement. Fingers crossed I'll be in school by this time next year. Quitting my office job and sticking to serving may be good for school anyway. Hours are more flexible. I don't know what I'm trying to get at here. I just know I'm really unhappy where I'm at, all the jobs I'm applying for are no different, and I'm seriously thinking about working full time in the service industry and I hope that's not the worst idea ever.

I guess we'll see what I end up doing. Wish me luck.

scullerymaid at 11:34 a.m.

pots | pans