April 07, 2016

215

I made it to the gym last night, which is good because my ultimate goal is to go at least three times a week. I went Monday and Wednesday, so if I go again tonight I will have met my goal. Now I just have to repeat on a weekly basis for the rest of my life!

Anyway, I wanted to say that I'm quite proud of myself because not only did I run a whole mile last night, but I ran for nearly 15 minutes straight without taking a break. This may not sound like an accomplishment to many people, but as someone that was the fat kid growing up and as someone that frequents the gym as inconsistently as I do, I think that's pretty good. To realize my own athleticism. To know that I can just go to the gym on a whim and run like that without any warm up or building myself to that point over a few weeks. I tried doing that couch potato to 5k training, but I don't really need it. Apparently, I'm only pretending to be a couch potato. So yeah. Now it's just a matter of working on consistency because clearly I can do the workout. I just have to actually do the workout.

I also went without Brian. I actually really enjoy having Brian as a gym partner. When we go together, I push myself harder because he pushes himself pretty hard and I don't want to be left behind. But we only manage to go together maybe once a week and that is not enough. So I'm going to start going without him as well for the sake of progress. I mean to get in shape and I'm going to do it. I'm really hoping to use that wedding at the end of the month as serious motivation. It's only two weeks away, but if I can go to the gym like I claim I want to, and clean up my eating, two weeks is a good start. And technically, I already have a start anyway.

I weighed myself last night. I'm sitting at a nice 215. Not too bad considering a year ago I fluctuated between 230-240. I don't feel like I've lost weight, but I guess the scale doesn't lie. At my heaviest, I think I weighed in at 270 back in high school/first semester of college. Yowza! So, I really can't complain. I think my "ideal" weight is 170, but I'd be pretty happy to make it down to 200. Only 15 more pounds!

I really need to work on my diet. I don't think I eat all that horribly, but once again there is a lack of consistency. Brian and I gave up fast food for lent. I don't really miss it all that much. I'm not that big into fast food to begin with outside of getting some chicken nuggets from McDonald's every now and then. But I do have a carb problem, which is mostly also a diabetic problem. So I'm going to work on cutting back a bit. Not going carb free, but maybe making sure not to eat carb heavy for dinner. I don't eat a lot of past or rice, but I do love a good sandwich. I'm going to focus on eating more veggie carbs, and less bread carbs. And packing lunch. I have an awful time packing lunch. I think it's the worst thing ever. I hate it hate it hate it! But if I want to see change, then I have to change. So here's to packing my lunch Mon-Thurs and not succumbing to free junk I find at work. Gah!

So we'll see what happens. As long as I commit myself to going straight to the gym after work, and cooking enough dinner to have leftovers for lunch, I should do okay...right?

scullerymaid at 4:03 p.m.

pots | pans