March 07, 2016

What should I name my Prius?

Well, I bought a new car! You are now reading the entries of the proud owner of a 2009 Toyota Prius. It's powder blue, but I've been calling it sky blue. Same difference, right? I thought it might be a hard transition going from the hulking Pathfinder to the zippy Prius, but so far I love it. It's like driving a space car. Keyless start (I've already forgotten to turn it off once), keyless entry, keyless locks. Controls on the steering wheel. Big monitor on the dash that tells me how fuel efficient I now am. It's a pretty snazzy car. I really do like it a lot. It cost me a pretty penny. I originally got a decent APR on it since I have two jobs, but they retracted the offer when they realized I have not been with the sushi place for at least six months. When I say that sucks, I mean that sucks! I'm paying interest out the ass. But hopefully I can figure out a way to budget a making higher payments then my monthly minimum and then maybe I can refinance once I've been with Yoyo for six months. We'll see. I was hoping Yoyo would be a temporary thing. Doesn't seem like it now. Maybe I should apply to some teaching jobs...

In other news, I had some difficulty selling my Pathfinder to the dealership since my grandmother is a co-owner. And there was a stop on the vehicle for unpaid property taxes. So that cost a pretty penny to get everything paid up and then to transfer the title into my name. I had to dip into my rent money, which also really sucks. But come Sunday, hopefully I make decent enough money at Yoyo to have everything caught back up. This past weekend was relatively slow.

Sigh. I feel like every time I feel like things are under control and I'm making good progress, something happens that pushes me three steps back. And now on top of all my debt, I owe Brian money because I borrowed a little bit for my downpayment.

Double sigh.

But at least I have a car. And a second job to help alleviate some of this financial stress. And a very loving boyfriend who is making me chicken parmesan for dinner. I'll take it as a win.

Oh, but I did sprain my toe! I was running to catch the ferry last week in my carless state and something cracked in my toe. It still hurts. And now all my other leg muscles hurt too because I'm walking funny on it. Hopefully that doesn't turn into a long-term thing.

scullerymaid at 3:02 p.m.

pots | pans