March 01, 2016

More adventure

Let's talk!

So I went on my public transportation adventure last week, and for the most part I'd say it was successful. It took me longer to walk from my work to the light rail station than I thought it would, about 15 minutes or so. But no biggie. Then once the light rail arrived (maybe a 10 minute wait), it took another 15 minutes to get to my destination. From there, it should have been a straight walk to Town Point Park where I would catch the ferry, but somehow I got turned around so my straight walk turned into a bit of a zigzag. Still, no big deal. The worst part in all this is we were under a tornado alert and the weather was pretty bad. No sooner had I made it to the water did the sky fall out. So I waited at least 30 minutes in this raging storm for the ferry to appear. I had a moment where I feared it wouldn't come at all due to the storm, and by that point my phone was dead so I couldn't even call an Uber. But the rain passed and the ferry did come. I really like riding ferries. There's just something about being on the water, wind in your hair, that really speaks to me. Unfortunately, my intended stop was closed so I had to get off on a different dock, which resulted in about a mile walk to Brian's work, at which point I think I waited for another 30 minutes for him to get off. All things considered, I was quite pleased with the journey, and by the time I got over to Brian's work it was a really lovely night. And though it took me two hours, it only cost me $3.50. Not bad at all for a bit of exercise and adventure.

I'll be taking that adventure again tonight, though I'm going to make some adjustments. You see, my car died. I picked her up Thursday after getting brake work done, and she left me in the middle of an intersection Saturday night after I got off from Yoyo. That was a first and I had absolutely no idea what to do. I couldn't reach my grandmother (we share insurance) so I didn't know if I had any kind of roadside assistance. Then I called my dad and he told me to call the state police who told me to call 911. At one point, a lovely family pulled off and helped me push my poor car out of the intersection and onto the shoulder. They even gave me a ride to the gas station so I could buy a can. I was really hoping I had run out of gas and that was all- no such luck! When the police arrived, he gave me a jump but it wouldn't hold, which told me it was an alternator issue. Great! That is definitely not something I wanted to bother with. So the officer gave me a ride home, Brian had it towed back to the shop the next day, and it turns out it was an alternator issue and would cost me an additional $700 on top of the $450 I already put into it not two days previously.

So I've decided it's time to get a new car. I hate the idea of a car payment, but I do a lot of driving and need something reliable. I'm looking at a Prius. Never thought the day would come when I'd say that, but you can't beat 48 MPG. Like I said, I do a lot of driving! It used to take me half a tank to get to and from my parents' house. Now it will take me only two gallons. I do wonder how big the tank is though... Anyway, we'll see what happens.

In further news, Brian and I had our first fight. I'd consider it a fight even though it was nothing close to a shouting match, and we both ended up crying. He's on this health kick and we're kinda doing it together. He told me that he wanted to limit drinking beer to the weekends. I was fine with that. I don't do a whole lot of drinking nowadays anyway. So I suggested that we order a pizza and finish up the beer in the fridge as a last hurrah. It took him two days to tell me, but apparently that really irritated him and that irritation had been building. I guess he felt that I wasn't being supportive of his desire to lose weight, and he thought we were going to do that as a couple, and I was just going to tease him with pizza. Then I went on about how he's always making comments about the food I eat and as someone that has lost a significant amount of weight already, it bothered me sometimes. And that was that. Then last night we had a touching moment because he feels pretty helpless in this car stuff I'm dealing with. My ability to put down a down payment is limited. I don't have a co-singer and was worried no one would finance me because of my poor credit. Having a car payment isn't ideal since I have all these other bills I'm trying to pay off. So yeah, we were sitting in my apartment and I was trying really hard not to be sad and mopey, but there he was feeling helpless and we both ended up crying. But it's going to be okay. Everything will work out in the end, right? Right!

So busy week. I do feel bad because I've been staying with Brian since all this car stuff happened. He said he'd rather me do that than wander the streets at night trying to get home, and I really appreciate that. He's the best. I really love him.

scullerymaid at 6:08 p.m.

pots | pans