August 27, 2015

In my nose

Brian came over last night, which was a surprise. For the most part we spend time together at his house. He doesn't have any roommates so it's just more comfortable, more private. But last night I made chicken and waffles for dinner with sausage gravy (splurge meal!) and when he found out, he decided to come over for leftovers. I don't blame him. It was actually pretty good. I don't like to fry things in the house, but it was so worth it. So when he got off work, he headed over, which must have been around 11pm. I tell you what, as much as I enjoy these late nights together, I'm not going to miss them if we ever manage to get a matching schedule.

Anyway, so he came over and brought wine and movies. I've never seen Star Wars and all my coworkers (and Brian) want to make sure I see all the episode before the new release in December. So far I've seen episode IV and V...and managed to fall asleep during both. I really want to like them, I really do. But I swear as soon as they start showing, I"m out like a light. I like the story line. I like the characters. But I cannot stay awake. So this time he decided to just leave the DVDs with me and I can figure out how to watch them on my own time. I'll watch them alright, but I think I'm also going to wiki them all. You know, in preparation for December.

Then Brian actually spent the night! Once again, I was a little surprised. He's stayed with me before of course, but he doesn't tend to do so during the week since I have to be up for work so much earlier than he does. And he's not comfortable just sleeping in while I leave. But my schedule has changed. I don't have to go in now until 10am, so maybe that means he'll come over more often at night. Guess we'll see. I still prefer going to his place, but it's nice to be in my space every now and then.

I really love his smell. This morning when I woke up, I could smell him in my duvet. And now that I'm at work, I can smell him on me. It's so weird, and yet very exciting at the same time. I keep whirling around and there he is, his smell surrounding me. I wish I could describe it. It's salty with a hint of old spice and then whatever it is that is Brian's own natural flavor. It's my favorite part of snuggling because it just overwhelms my nose. It's not really all that strong. I've just grown to search it out. I do have a sensitive nose.

Yesterday we discussed how to handle holidays. I had planned on spending holidays together, but I didn't want to pressure him into anything. But he wants to, too. My parents have already called dibs on Christmas, so we've decided to spend Thanksgiving with his family. I wonder if all his siblings will be there. So far, I've met his three brothers and one of his sisters. But the other sister lives in Florida and I don't know how often she travels back home. I'm really excited that fall is almost here. Cooler weather. Holidays. I love it so much! His birthday is coming up, too. It's on a work night for him so I doubt he'll do anything, but I'd like to do something nice for him. By then, we'll have just reached six months together. I still can't believe it. Like I said in my entry yesterday, sometimes all this is just so surreal to me. I can't believe it happened. I can't believe it's happening.

scullerymaid at 11:20 a.m.

pots | pans