May 02, 2015

A Stranger by Lang Leav

Oh, diary. Diary, diary, diary, I don't even know where to begin. Things with Brian are going splendidly. I met one of his friends for the first time last night. I wanted to surprise him last night by leaving a note on his car while he was at work, so I dragged Sarah out with me on a little adventure. And what an adventure it turned out to be! He lived and works in Portsmouth, which isn't that far at all. The issue is you have to cross through a tunnel to get there, and the tunnel was closed. So I think we spent a good 40 minutes driving around in circles fighting with the GPS to get across that water. Eventually, we found a bridge that did the job, but man was it a hassle. The worst part is, his restaurant closes at 9:30 and I came up with this brilliant idea at 9:15 so we were on a bit of a time crunch. I really didn't think we were going to make it on time. Then once we were in Portsmouth, there were so many detours! It was ridiculous. I swear, he can move over to this side of town any time he's ready. Finally, we found the retaurant. Since it was street parking, I figured that employees probably parked out back and sure enough we came a cross a free parking garage. It was relatively empty so in theory it should have been easy enough to find his car. Wrong. We searched that garage up and down twice and could not find his car at all. By this time, it was after 10 so I knew he would be getting out soon and I began to panic. So naturally I sent him a series of texts to try to figure out where he was parked. We got the parking garage right, but it turned out he carpools with one of his co-workers. Of course. Why wouldn't that be the case. So then i had to figure out what kind of car she drives, and after a bit he figured out I was up to something sneaky.

We found her car, left the note for him, then hid our car around the corner to watch. Just to be sure he got it. We must have looked ridiculous craning our next at every person that walked into the garage. I had planned to leave once they showed up and I was sure the letter was firmly in his hands, but then he realized I was actually still there so they turned around and came back for us and we all went to this really nifty bar for a drink. Reminded me of an old school speakeasy. And that's how I met Monica. I love Monica, absolutely adore her. She has this great energy and is just funny and nice and hugged me as soon as she met me and I think we're going to get along great. Plus, she renovating her house and likes gardening, so I volunteered my services. Hopefully meetings with his other friends go just as well.

I'm really glad we went on that adventure. I debated it for a few minutes, but the romance got the best of me and I'm so glad it did! And of course, he was pleasantly surprised and found the whole thing thrilling.

We're so cute. I love it. Though, once again I was hesitant about the whole PDA thing. It's not as bad with strangers, but Sarah and Monica were there! When they dropped us off, he got out of the car to say goodnight...which meant he had to kiss me. I would have loved to have given him a real kiss, but with the two of them there could only manage a little peck. But we're going on our third date tomorrow, so I'm sure we'll make up for it. I'm so excited. I never expected any of this at all. After we parted after midnight last night, he called me when I got home and we talked until 5am this morning. Who does that! Admittedly, I fell asleep on him toward the end. I don't even remember falling asleep, but then I got his goodnight text so obviously I did. It's okay. He thinks it's sweet.

Also, he disabled his dating account. I didn't realize it until he told me so the other night. It's not something we've discussed since we haven't had a full conversation about where we are going with this, though I'm sure that will be happening tomorrow. But he said he knew it was foolish to put all his eggs in one basket, but he has a feeling this is going to work and has never felt such a natural connection with someone before. I'm certainly feeling the same, so I retrieved all of our original messages, which I fondly refer to as love letter, and disabled my account too. I am all in. I have so much hope for us.

scullerymaid at 11:55 a.m.

pots | pans