April 29, 2015

I like the noises he makes

Reserved, quiet Brian called me a seductress. With my alternating shy glances and bold stare, he said I knew exactly what I was doing when I looked him square in the eye on our first date. Of course, it's true. It's not hard to seduce someone that wants to be seduced. It's quite thrilling actually and I felt like Inara from Firefly, confident and playful in my subtleties. Plus, I read this article that said the ultimate way to increase intimacy is by staring into someone's eyes for four minutes without speaking. Being two hesitant people, I thought it would be a good idea to try, though I botched the whole not talking part. Apparently, that article was on to something though, because I feel the most at ease when I'm staring him right in the eye without looking away. There's no awkwardness. There's no urge to avert my eyes. It's like all the shyness I feel around him melts away for those moments. He really does have the most beautiful eyes. Since we went on our date Sunday during the day, I finally got to see them in real light. He says they are hazel, but whenever we're in a restaurant or bar, I couldn't describe them at all. But in the sunshine, they remind me of a nebula, shades of green and blue spreading around his iris with specks of gold and brown. Quite lovely.

Anyway, we did go on our second date Sunday. He picked me up around noon and took me to this really cute place called The Handsome Biscuit. It was so good. I ordered this monstrous concoction called the Hella Fitzgerald, which was a fried chicken breast smothered in sausage gravy served on a sweet potato biscuit (yum!) with bacon and cheddar. He got this weird blue cheese and pickled cabbage chicken biscuit, which I'll admit wasn't too bad, then we split an order of greens and an order of hashbrowns. Both very good. Have I mentioned that he's a foodie? It's nice because he's heard of all these places in the area I've never been to. Score!

After that, we walked around the Chrysler for a bit, which is our art museum. I appreciated that he liked doing stuff like that, but our art tastes are far from similar. He likes modern contemporary and I'm drawn to ancient and primitive. Also, I did go there frequently in school for art projects and after a couple times, it gets a little old. But I did enjoy spending time with him there and hearing what he thought about certain pieces. But even more, I enjoyed the walk we took around the lake outside. It was a really beautiful day. We met the cutest puppy, and he offered to steal her for me. But I especially enjoyed the fact that he kissed me again. Right there in public, outside the Chrysler next to the lake. I wasn't expecting it, and I've never had the opportunity to experience PDA before. I felt exhilarated and bashful all at once. It was nice because while we were inside I felt like there was a lot of tension to break that physical barrier between us. It was like our first date, a dance of almost touches. After he kissed me, though, he took my hand and that's pretty much how we stayed for the rest of the day.

It was actually really cute because he insisted on sitting next to me wherever we went after that. First, we went to this pizza place where we enjoyed a flight of beer on the balcony. So good! He is definitely more of a beer enthusiasts than I am, but I'm easing myself into it. But he also really enjoys ciders and he knows I like my beer on the sweet side so we tried out a pear cider, a mead, a framboise, and then a vanilla porter. All delicious I'll have you know. The man has good taste and indulges in mine. And he took my hand under the table and did some more eye gazing stuff. It seems so silly, but I guess it's working for us. I think I've mentioned that we're both pensive people so conversation doesn't flow as readily as it could. I don't mean that in a negative way at all. It's just we get caught up in our own thoughts and don't have to necessarily fill the silence. I think I'm really going to enjoy that when he becomes less of a stranger. Right now, I tend to prattle on and on about nothing. He assures me I'm not prattling at all, but it feels like it alright. I'm not used to carrying the conversation and when two introverts are involved, I feel like someone has to take on the extrovert role, you know?

We finished our outing at a bar called Public House. I really liked the environment, but I felt they were a little pricey. We only ordered one drink each and some pretzle sticks, but we were there forever. I really appreciated the waiter's tact because I think he realized we were on a new date so he pretty much left us alone. Uh, and diary he kept kissing me. Right there in the booth in the bar. Once again, I'm not used to all that PDA so I kept glancing around as if the PDA police were going to show up. As reserved as he is, I'm surprised that he kept doing it. But it was sweet. I enjoyed it. It's nice to be with someone that wants everyone to know that they are with you and you are with them.

I think he brought me back home around 9:30-10 because we honestly were running out of things to do. But that was okay. I've been so tired lately, I was thankful to just relax. I did invite him in this time, and that led to a 3 hour make out session. But once again, we didn't have sex. He wants to take things slow, and I do appreciate that I suppose, though it's definitely a different pace than what I'm used to. I will say that I'm no longer worried about sex. I got the impression that he hasn't had sex in awhile, and I'm not sure how experienced he is, which kinda boosts my sense of confidence a bit. I did a couple PG/PG13 things that seemed to shock and tantalize him so I got this in the bag. I should mention that's when he called me a seductress. I wonder if this is going to be like something you see in a movie where the first time is delicately planned out. I bet you he's the type to make a candlelit dinner to set the mood before the first "union" so to speak. He strikes me as that kind of romantic guy, especially since there hasn't been any rush to have sex and he keeps booking all my Sundays. We're going out again this week, then he has already invited me to the local beer fest, which makes me nervous because he said his friends will probably be there. Anyway, I think it's reasonable to say that all my Sundays now belong to him and I have a feeling this is going to be something. We keep talking about the future and making realn future plans, so I guess that's a good sign.

The fact that we're both quiet still makes me a little nervous. I know it's not a bad thing and we're still getting to know each other so it's natural to keep a little quiet when you're shy. It's just I really like to listen to him talk. When he gets going about something he knowledgeable about, it's intoxicating. But for the most part our conversations revolve around me rambling. Regardless of whether or not he agrees.

He's so cute. And he's started following me on everything, which is a little unsettling. He found my Facebook, my instagram, my tumblr (which I think is such a personal thing!), and I'm sitting over here freaking out a little bit. But he's absolutely adorable, with great hair, beautiful eyes, a fantastic beard, and a genuinely sincere soul. I like where things are going. I'll happily give him all my Sundays.

scullerymaid at 1:19 a.m.

pots | pans