March 11, 2015

Run run run

Went running last night. I feel like I've been pretty good about getting to the gym. Probably not as often as I should be going, but it's a real good start. I really enjoy running. Sometimes I think it's something that I've just idealized considering I dread going, but once I'm there I don't tend to dally. I just run. I'd like to say that this is a time for meditation, but I'm not to that point yet. In fact, I don't think I would run at all if it wasn't for Lady Gaga on Pandora. I now understand why people listen to upbeat music while jogging. It really does help! Anyway, last night I upped my speed. I usually job on 4.5 but decided to go at 5 instead. It's a small difference, but I still noticed the difference. There's an extra burn in my thighs today. I tired to run my whole mile at this speed, but ended up walking the last .20. That's okay. I'm confident I'll get the whole mile in next time. At least I can run 10 minutes straight without stopping. My middle school self calls that a great accomplishment. I can't wait to work my way up to 30 minutes, then one day I'd like to be one of those people that goes on 5 mile run as if it's nothing. I'll get there.

I'm really hoping to lose 15-20 pounds by my doctor's appointment in May. That might be a little ambitious considering my eating isn't quite on par yet, but I'm not as concerned with the scale as I am hopefully at least going down a dress size or two. That's be nice. If I lose 20 pounds or get down to a 12, I'm going to reward myself with a piercing I think. By that time it will be a year since my last one, so why not? I've been so stressed out since December, I think it will be a nice little treat day. But we'll see if I meet my goal. I really should try to get to the gym at least 5 days a week, preferably going on at least a short run everyday. I wonder how I would do running around the neighborhood...?

Anyway, I'm still happy with my running progress. Now just to keep it up. Hopefully next I'll be able to make myself go in the mornings before work.

I do have one fear. I've been doing a lot of research on weight loss, and though I don't look that big, I think I will have a considerable amount of loose skin when all this is said and done. If I even make it that far. Lord knows, I do like having meat on my bones. But I need to lose some pounds for my health, not my vanity, and that's something I need to consider. What to do with that loose skin if I get any. I'd rather not think about it for now.

scullerymaid at 11:40 a.m.

pots | pans