March 09, 2015

Almost May

No one understands how much I loved Whiskey. I don't think even I realized how much I came to love her. For everyone else my getting a dog was just a whim, a joke, and then a relief when I gave her up. But I still grieve her everyday. I think of her constantly and the thoughts burn deep in my chest with longing. I don't regret giving her up because she has such a great home, but I miss her so horribly I wish I could have kept her. I miss her presence in my bed every night as she guarded me in my sleep. I miss her welcoming whine everyday when I came home from work. I miss the adventures we stumbled upon on our walks. And I just miss her. She was such a good dog. She was my dog and I'm beginning to think there's just no getting over it.

I really miss the future we never had, so I torture myself by looking at her photos all the time.

scullerymaid at 1:17 a.m.

pots | pans