February 18, 2015

Rocky and Sky

Saturday morning I drove out to Chesapeake. I left early in the morning because the GPS tends to turn you around in those parts, and it did, but I don't mind too much. I followed it on a route that was 10-15 minutes longer than it had to be, but I prefer to get a feel for the area before mapping my own route. It was a nice drive. I usually don't like going out that way. There's lots of construction. But it wasn't long before the highway and workman fell way to large open fields. I've always loved driving through the country.

When I arrived at my destination, Amanda stepped out of her car. She's the one I'll be helping with her horses. Her and Sally, who owns the land where the horses are kept. They seem like really friendly people and I'm really excited to get to know them. Plus Amanda went to CNU so we immediately had something to talk about other than the horses. It's been so long since I've worked with horses I felt like a fish out of water. We fed them, then groomed them, then did a little riding. I feel confident up there,, and these horses weren't too large, but I did get nervous since they aren't my horses and I don't know their particular commands. But it was really nice. I rode Sky, but actually prefer Rocky. I groomed him first and he has better ground manners. Sky likes to push you around with her head. But she's an easier ride. I'll have to work my way up to Rocky.

I really am looking forward to this experience. I don't know how often i'll be going out, hopefully once a week, but I can't wait. And Amanda said i'm a good rider. I kept my back straight and maintained control of Sky. I just need to learn to put my feet out, what was always a trouble area for me. But it's going to be great to have a hobby.

Now if only winter would go away. It snowed Monday and I swear everything turned to ice before it touched the ground. fortunately, we've been permitted to work from home yesterday and today, but I doubt that will be the case tomorrow. I do not drive in the snow and all the roads are iced up so fingers crossed it will be better in the morning. Even with a 4x4, I'd rather stay home.

I'm still trying to plan out my garden for this year. I mostly want tomatoes for canning purposes. And eating of course. I would like to make a few jars of jams as well. I really need a house.

scullerymaid at 10:25 a.m.

pots | pans