November 28, 2014

Queens and kings

I went to the doctor Monday. All good news. My numbers are down and if they come down again in the next three months, my doctor is going to take me off of some of the meds. If they don't come down, she's going to add even more meds. I pray that they come down. My main concern is weight loss. I'm officially 7 pounds down since my last visit. It will be a miracle if I keep that off and add some more weight to it. It'd be awesome if I could come down at least another 7. I wouldn't complain. After all, that seems to be the key with managing Diabetes. Fingers crossed I stay in the clear.

We need a third roommate. I thought we had one, but he was offered a hob promotion in Richmond so it's back to the hunt. Sarah is being incredibly too picky. At this point, we need another paycheck in the house. She can't afford rent and she doesn't want to move, so we need a third person. I really don't care who they are. I stick to myself anyway, so it's whatever. She on the other hand likes to leave her crap everywhere and camp out on the couch. So she basically wants to find a roommate that will turn our apartment into an episode form New Girl, or she wants someone that's never there. Tough luck. I've already gotten a few hits since I reposted the add, but I know she's going to say no to all of them. Well, tough luck once again. I can't afford to move anyway, so I'll get however many roommates I need to get. I can't wait for this all to be over. It's the greatest source of stress in my life right now.

I really can't wait for the day when I can live alone again. I like the idea of living with people, and I've lived with people for so long, but I miss living alone. I don't blame her, but I think if Sarah had never moved in, I would've tried to work with Whiskey more. Sarah created tension between the three of us, and her moody presence made me avoid coming home, which wasn't fair to Whiskey. since she had such special needs, I couldn't just take her to a dog park or go walking outside the neighborhood. I miss her a lot. I hope her new home is giving her what I couldn't.

If even I live alone again, I think I'm going to stick to the original plan of getting a greyhound. I think their temperament is more my speed. In the meantime, I've been thinking about getting Pacha a kitty friend. He's such an affectionate cat that I think he probably gets lonely while we're gone all day.

Thanksgiving was nice. I couldn't make it to Surry to see my family. My tags are expired and I thought it would be too risky to drive that far without getting a ticket. So I spent the day with TJ's family again. Dinner was good, and then we had a chess tournament. TJ and I have been playing, so he wanted to see how I would go up against his brother. I honestly think they are the better players, the better strategists, but I keep winning. I pick their players off one by one until they have no defense. My theory is that if you take the queen, the king is dead. It's working so far. I really quite enjoy it. It's too bad Sarah doesn't like to do things like that. All we ever do is watch tv and talk about boys. And it's always fun to go out, but I'm starting to feel the superficiality of the relationship. I can't talk to her about serious things. If we have a problem, we can't talk it out. Believe me, I've tried. It seems best to just sweep it under the rug, and I really hate that kind of mentality. I'm hoping our new roommate will help balance things out. And hopefully they can encourage her to keep her shit out of the bathroom. I feel cleaner showering at TJ's and he keeps the litter box in his tub.

I'm trying to read more. I can't say how successful I am at the task, but I'm working on the second book of the Outlander series. I've also started to appreciate poetry. I've never been a fun, but suddenly the imagery I find in all these lyrics touches me like nothing else. Wile how that happens.

I still haven't found a second job and have finally given up the hunt. I'm just going to have to be poor for a long time.

scullerymaid at 1:22 p.m.

pots | pans