September 05, 2014

Reality checks all around

Let's talk about diabetes for a moment. I don't know shit about diabetes, even though I was diagnosed with type 2 a year ago after a trip to the doctor for a painful bladder infection. My doctor didn't seem to concerned, so I haven't concerned myself too much about it. I've never been big on sweets and though I enjoy potatoes and white rice, I get most of my carbs from sandwiches. I think the real issue is I eat out too often. What a bummber. Anyway, a recent check up at the doctor has earned me a trip to see an endocrinologist so suddenly this whole diabetes thing has become real. Thanks for the guidance, doc.

I'd be a liar if I didn't say I was a little scared. I know this is no laughing matter but I don't know where to begin. Diet? Okay, but I don't know what I should or shouldn't eat. Clean eating I suppose, but I don't even know how to do that. I don't feel I eat terribly, but I must since things aren't improving. Now I'm super paranoid and swear my eyes are going and my nerves are on fire. I think it's all in my imagination, but hopefully that's enough to get me motivated. Eat right and exercise. It's as easy as that.

I have a book on hold at the library which is supposed to teach me how to reverse diabetes. There are those out there that claim diabetes can't be reversed, but that's not quite true. If you have the genetics for it, you will always have the genetics for it- but that doesn't mean you have to be medicated. That doesn't mean you can't live normally. I've been wanting to live a really healthy lifestyle for a while. I think my wake up call is finally here.

The first thing I'm going to do is stop drinking. I'm only an occassinal drinker, so this won't be too difficult. Also, no more fast food, junk food, sweet food. I really want to make a better effort to eat at home. Being broke should help. Finally, I need to up my gym outings. Though I go, I'm not consistant. Some consistancy could make a world of difference.

So yeah. That's the plan. We'll see how well it goes. My plans aren't always all that great. But here's to hoping. If my dad can decrease his numbers in a month, so can I.

Poor TJ, though. He's in complete denial of my condition. It doens't help that his friend recently suffered from heart failure. He doesn't quite grasp that's not a good thing. Since the guy is walking aorund and doing the same things he's always done, TJ assumes he's fine. But he's a ticking time bomb. Amd so am I if I don't get on the right path. I think that scares him. He won't admit it, which is why he's in utter denial, but it's a sobering thought.

Time to get in tip top shape! I'm too young for this shit. It does disappoint me that I worked so hard to avoid this and ended up with it anyway. Sigh

scullerymaid at 11:15 a.m.

pots | pans