May 16, 2014

Molly

So I may or may not have accidentally adopted a dog today. I went into the SPCA just to look. It was a crappy day at work and I'm very close to murdering my boss. So I figured visiting the dogs would cheer me up. Well, there was this gorgeous collie mix that seemed polite enough. So I stood all googly-eyed outside of her kennel for a few minutes when the trainer asked if I would like to meet her. Sure, why not! So the three of us went into a little room together and he answered all my questions- what do you think about apartment living for the dog, is she cat aggressive, how would she do for a first time dog owner? The trainer seemed satisfied with my questions and concerns so next thing I know I'm filling out an application. If her owners don't pick her up Wednesday, she'll be considered abandoned and I can pick her up that afternoon after they fix her.

Lord almighty, what did I just get myself into?! The only thing I'm really nervous about is the fact that she's a high energy, intelligent dog. So we're going to have to be very active together and I'm going to need to work with her. You know, teach her tricks and that sort to keep her mind stimulated. I hope I can handle it. I wanted a semi-active dog I could take on adventures with me, but now that it may actually be happening, I'm nervous.

Also, I could be moving in 6 months. I hope she really will handle apartment life okay. German Shepherds handle apartment life okay if exercises, but it's hard to tell with herding dogs. I want to give her a good life- not imprison her!

Guess we'll see what happens Wednesday!

scullerymaid at 5:20 p.m.

pots | pans