February 28, 2014

Workout

I'm a creature of routine, and if not routine, I at least like to plan out certain things. Like going to the gym. Working out is not something you can decide to do five days one week and only one day the following week. No! If you want results, you need consistency. Well, tell that to my workout partner. Half the time, I feel like going to the gym with Sarah is a waste of time. I enjoy it because if she comes over it's a big motivator to actually get dressed and drive the 2 miles it takes to get to the gym. But once we get there I feel a little discouraged. All she wants to do is shrink her thighs. And she has it in her head that means she just needs to stay on the leg machines. No! We need full body workouts. We need weights and cardio. We get there and I lap her on the machines because she's too busy texting and checking FB. Then on the treadmill, she's done after only 10 minutes of WALKING! So I can't even get a run in. If she doesn't want to run, that's fine. But 10 minutes is nothing. Let's at least do 20 minutes.

But you know what? I could get over these things...if we were going consistently! I swear in the few months we've had the membership, we've maybe made it 10 times. Seriously.

So I've been thinking about getting one of those home workouts to do in the morning. Then if we go to the gym in the evening it's a bonus workout. I just want to lose 15 pounds. If I could maintain enough discipline to do that, I know I could lose the rest. Short term goals lead to long term goals. So after Seattle, that's what I'm going to do. I'm going to order a DVD and buy a calendar and stick to it.

And who knows. Maybe our gym adventure will improve. I wish she'd leave her phone at home.

scullerymaid at 10:19 p.m.

pots | pans