February 21, 2014

Glasses

Today I went to the optometrist for the first time in probably 11 years. They blew air in my eyes, made me stare at green lights, and had me click a button whenever I saw wavy lines in my peripherals. Then I has to read off that alphabet chart before the doc decided to dilate my eyes. That's right! They dilated my eyes. What a strange feeling. At first, it felt like there was all this pressure building around my eyes that made me want to shut them closed. And then, they felt a little numb. Finally, I could no longer read anything. Seriously, I held my phone in front of my face and couldn't read it. Nor could I read the paperwork in front of me. It was kinda wild.

Anyway, apparently I don't use my left eye. Like at all. I only use my right eye. I've always known that my right eye was stronger, but I didn't realize that my left eye was completely dependent on it.

I should have my sassy new glasses in a week. I can't believe how long it's been since I've worn any!

scullerymaid at 8:10 p.m.

pots | pans