January 08, 2014

Day 04

04- Your views on religion

I would define myself as a cobbler. In one of my anthropology course, that was defines as one who has a modge podge of beliefs. See, I was raised Southern Baptist. Went to church on Sundays. Went to Awanas on Wednesdays. But my granny was Adventist. Since she practically raised me, that means I also went to church on Saturdays as a child. Let's not forget I attended a Catholic school. I'm not sure how often we all walked those few blocks from the school to the church, but I always enjoyed those strolls (though the service usually made me restless and I resented the fact that I couldn't take communion since I wasn't a Catholic). As I grew older, my parents left the Baptist Congregation for a Pentecostal one. Or is it Presbretarian? Perhaps nondenominational- it all gets so confusing!

With this kind of upbringing, I do identify as a Christian, but I don't believe in going to church. Church makes me uncomfortable. I don't like the singing. I don't like the clapping. I don't like the fake smiles of people trying to mind into your business. When I do go to church, I prefer going to mass. I like the tradition of it. I like the rituals. When I go to mass, I feel like I'm practicing a religion and not making a social call.

But I'm still not Catholic and have no intention of converting. I once got into a debate with an acquaintance about religion, and he pretty much told me that Christianity is the only "real" religion. What does that even mean?! If there is only one "real" religion, then how did so many other religions come into being?

Here's my take on the matter. Not everyone can comprehend God in the same way. God, whether an actual being, a force, the source of the universe, or a bunch of particles shoved together, is just too big for everyone to understand. So God had to divide into many different religions across the world in such a way that could be praised by the different peoples of the world. Maybe it's just a nice way of looking at things, but for me God and Krishna are one. Krishna and Buddha are one. Buddha and Coyote are one. Coyote and Jesus are one. All the deities of the world are just part of the same being, pieces of a whole.

So that's my view on religion. I think religion is a beautiful thing. It brings people together, seeks out kindness and humility and tolerance. But it also can be a source for war and hate and prejudice. So I'll keep believing what I believe, worship God in my own manner, and continue to avoid congregations.

scullerymaid at 10:44 p.m.

pots | pans