September 24, 2013

Kayaking

What a wonderfully busy weekend I had! Friday night I headed over to TJ's for a bonfire, which wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. I don't have some of the fondest memories of these bonfires- too many strangers always show up, but Friday wasn't so bad although there were quite a few uninvited guests.

Then Saturday morning I woke up with the sun to go kayaking. Oh, how enjoyed it! The air was crisp, the water cool, and now I really wish I had the money to afford one on my own. We were out on the water for a good three hours. We started off at the boat launch, which I suppose could be considered an inlet. Then from the calm waters of the inlet we had to paddle head on into the choppy waters of the Atlantic. I'll admit I was a little nervous about transitioning into the ocean. Lord knows the paddling became exceedingly harder and it felt like we weren't moving at all for battling against the waves, but it was worth it. Poor Janet though! We were kayaking tandem and the ocean waves did not settle well with her. As soon as we hit those waters she became queasy and it wasn't long before she spewed over the side of our vessel. Our guide decided to beach us for a bit so she and one other girl could settle their stomachs. I had a blast though. I'm really digging these water sports.

Saturday night involved another fire at TJ's only this time quiet. His parents came over for a couple beers and we chatted for a bit. Then they left and only two other friends came over which was such a relief. Funny enough, we debated about religion, which I enjoyed because it's not often now that I get to debate. Speaking of funny things, recently TJ's dad has become...more open with TJ on the subject of sex. Last night after he left he texted TJ because he really enjoyed the fire and was sad to go home, but his mom was too tired to stay out. TJ tried to invite him back over and he responded with some quip about the hour and how his mom "was too pooped to pop" if you get my drift. A few weeks ago he also left some condoms in TJ's car because they were too tight for his own purposes (though I certainly did not complain). So little instances like this have been happening quite frequently over the last few months and TJ is left utterly embarrassed. I on the other hand am quite amused.

Sunday I drove to Richmond with Dawn to see my brother. He'll be going to a halfway house soon. I hope it does him good. I'm not to sure this experience has taught him anything, but at least he's clean at the moment. And it was nice spending the day with Dawn. I really like her. Couldn't ask for a better stepmother if I have to have one.

Since Monday I've been house/cat sitting with TJ. He's in Minnesota for work and right now I'll take any excuse to not sleep at home. I'm just not comfortable there and as soon as I can afford to move out I will. Plus, this place still feels like home to me. I've already cooked two meals which is saying a lot since I can't remember the last time I cooked. Pacha likes it here too.

So yeah, pretty busy weekend and I'm still recovering from all the running around.

scullerymaid at 9:06 p.m.

pots | pans