August 11, 2013

Dodge

Looks like I'm moving! Yesterday Dad and Dawn came over to go check out the house since it belongs to a neighbor of theirs. I won't lie; the house definitely needs some work, and they are making renovation plans. But it's not so bad. The living room and dining room are open and spacious, and the kitchen is charming. Since my new roommate lifts weights, there's a room in the back with a treadmill and a weight bench and things of the sort so that I don't have to worry about investing in a gym membership I'll never use. I was allowed to pick one of two available bedrooms. Naturally, I picked the slightly larger one. It's not near as big as my current room, but for the sake of saving money I"ll survive. It needs a paint job and the baseboards need replacing but I'm not all too worried about that. I'm pretty sure my bed and desk will fit, and I'm thinking about mounting my tv and selling my tv stand. I'll need to sell my couch as well and put my dining room set into storage. Mine is nicer than his, bit I'm not going to push the issue since I don't know him. At least he could use a coffee table, so I'll be able to keep that.

Overall, I'm excited for the move. Though I will miss my apartment, it'll be nice to be in a house again and I think it will be nice to have a roommate. He seems nice anyway. His sister tells me that he's quiet and reserved and just went through a hellish breakup that brought down his self esteem. I think we'll have plenty to talk about. He's easy on the eyes too so I'll have to be careful not to get too friendly. Just kidding! Out of all this I'm really looking to find a place to call home for awhile and to make a good friend. I'm so glad he's a guy since I am so done with having girlfriends for a spell. But yes, I hope I can make this place home. TJ's house was the first place that felt like home in a long time and I miss that feeling.

So now's the issue of breaking my lease. As crazy as it sounds, I just want to give them the money and move. But Dawn insists that we fight paying such a lump sum, especially since the complex is renovating all the apartments anyway, including mine. As much as I could use the money, I'm not a negotiator. Situations like this are very black and white for me. If I want to leave, this is how to do it. But everyone else is all about bending the rules. Which I'm all for. I"m just terrible at doing it. We'll see. I really want to be out by September. I hope the new roommate likes holidays because he's going to be in for a treat when fall and winter start rolling around! I'm so thankful we're the same age and have at least a few shared interests.

You know, this will be my 11th move in six years. I wonder how many times I'm going to move in the next six years...

Now that I know I'm moving, I feel very antsy. I just want to get in, start painting, and start selling and moving my stuff. I think I should just chuck a lot of clutter too.

I'm going to miss my beautiful walk-in closet. Remind me one day when I've found my career and can afford to build my own house to make sure all the bedrooms have walk-in closets!

Did I mention the house has hardwood floors? I've always liked wood floors. He plans on carpeting them, but said I could keep wood in my room if I wanted. I haven't decided yet. Hmmm

scullerymaid at 11:46 a.m.

pots | pans