July 16, 2013

Clocks

This has been absolutely the slowest week here at work and it's only Tuesday. I'm going bored out of my mind. The funny thing is, it's the last week of the term so it should be quite busy. I usually look forward to week 5. But this is a terrible week. Slow and dull with little next to nothing to do. What's even worse, is I'll be out on Friday so I'm working extra long hours to make up the 8 I'll miss. At this rate, I'm going to dip into my PTO out of sheer boredom.

I really don't mind working long hours. I actually get a bit of a thrill squeezing my 40 into four days 9or my 43 into four days like I did for Math's wedding). But I actually had work to get done the last time. This go round is just dragging and dragging. At least if it was ever slow at Panera, there was always cleaning to be done. Or pre-closing to begin. Here it's just sit sit sit and wait for something to come in that I can respond to. That's the thing I dislike most about my job; it's mostly a waiting game for someone to respond to me or send me something I require. No fun. Even Pinterest becomes tiresome after a while.

I wish I had a task to do. If I'm going to be at work, by golly I want to work. My redhead is no hope either. I think he's in a weird work zone where he doesn't get phone service so he can't distract me from this long day. And I'm still not speaking with the Twins. In all the mishaps we've ever had, I've always valued our friendship enough to go back and apologize- even when I'm not in the wrong. I finally confronted Artist yesterday about her gossiping habits because ever since the wedding I've suddenly become her venting buddy. Well, she pretty much brushed me off and told me not to worry about it. What? Not worry about the fact that Math's new hubby is pissed at me because you slandered me with your wagging tongue...? Okay. Maybe I'm overreacting a bit. Maybe I shouldn't worry about it, and I'm not as worried about it as I seem. I'm just trying to prove a point. I'm so sick and tired of this kind of shit. It makes me wonder how we've ever lasted as friends this long. I guess that's the thing. We've been friends for so long, little things like this don't ruin us. That doesn't make me any less tired of it. So I'll play the hermit for a while until they decide to get their heads out of the clouds and take other people's feelings into consideration.

Hmph lol.

I'm so ready to leave. I swear the clock isn't moving and I'm running out of distractions. Still two hours to go!

Maybe I'll clean my purse out. That'll take 5 minutes if I'm lucky.

scullerymaid at 4:29 p.m.

pots | pans