May 21, 2013

Mean green

I have absolutely no sense of discipline. I keep telling myself I'm going to wake up early and go to the gym. Going to the gym in the mornings would be so much more convenient than trying to go at night. Plus, I could guarantee my 5 days a week instead of whenever I happen to be home at night, which seems to be a rare thing. Last night I didn't get home til past midnight! I'm not sure exactly how I spend my time, but it sure isn't in my apartment with my cat. Poor Pacha! One of these days I'm going to do it. If I could just make myself go one time, I'm sure I could keep it up. It's just that first step. The shame of it is I actually set my alarm clock early and feel pretty awake when it starts going off- I just don't get my ass up.

Something extrodinary happened last night, though. I had a salad for dinner. I also had one for lunch on Saturday. Of course, I also had pizza and Chinese over the weekend, but I"m working better food into my diet. I've starting juicing for breakfast. Well, I don't have a juicer so really every morning I have a green smoothie, but I figure it's better to have all that extra fiber from the skins/pulp anyway. It's not so bad. I like mine with lots of lemon to cut down on some of the green flavor, but it really isn't bad at all. I recommend drinking it super cold though. Originally, I thought about doing two jucie/smoothie meals then eating a normal dinner, but I don't have the discipline for that either. I can handle drinking a large smoothie for breakfast, but by the time it wears off for lunch, my tummy is grumbling something fierce. So breakfast it is. I think I'll start eating salads for lunch to keep this veggie kick going. I've never been big in salads, but with the right ingredients it shouldn't be so bad. My southwest salad last night was delicious. I'm hoping summer weather will keep me in the mood for light, fresh food anyway.

I've been craving guacamole.

We'll see how this goes. I have a followup appointment tomorrow which is part of why I've been trying to get so much green into my system. Now if only I could step away from the pizza and eggrolls...

scullerymaid at 9:16 a.m.

pots | pans