November 08, 2012

It was the best of times

Next Sunday all my friends are invading my house for our annual pre-Thanksgiving Thanksgiving dinner. I can't wait. I'm so excited to see everyone...and to cook! Today I compiled my part of the menu and I'm pretty satisfied. I'm deep frying the turkey this year (yikes) and giving it a nice Memphis style rub. I want to change up my mac and cheese recipe this year. I was thinking gruyere and white cheddar with bacon, but haven't quite decided yet. I'm going to give cranberry sauce a go, too, and plan on adding blackberries to the mix. Finally, I want to do a sweet potato souffle, which I've never attempted before. Sounds pretty good, right? I think I can manage it all, plus after I rub down the turkey I'm giving TJ the reins. I'm not all that interested in messing with gallons of hot oil! Hopefully someone plans on bringing dessert!

You know, I got to thinking and I wonder if this is going to be our last Thanksgiving together. We're already short a person and someone else might not be able to make it. How much longer before none of us can get together?

scullerymaid at 1:29 p.m.

pots | pans